9

4.0 based on 9 customer reviews

5
2
0
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Love the sound quality

NW-WM1AM2//CE 03 May 2022 by KJinMin (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from ZX2 that I’ve purchased when it was first launched. This is a big improvement Tested both 1ZM2 and 1AM2, and I find that 1AM2 signature sounds better Not sure why. But hey it’s cheaper too. That works for me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Sound - Terrible Value - Quiet Output (EU)

NW-WM1AM2 21 July 2022 by tsiklon (United Kingdom)

To get the elephant in the room out of the way first - this machine exists in two forms, and is not the same worldwide. If you purchase this in Europe you will receive a system with a significantly neutered power output, as compared with that available in North America and Asia. This limitation is set in firmware at the factory and there is no known way to subvert this currently. The result of this is that the system will struggle to drive inefficient headphones and IEMs. Unfortunately when this was first initially advertised for preorder in Europe they did not inform customers of this limitation, and the specifications as advertised at the time indicate the presence of a high gain mode and improved power output via the 4.4mm Jack. This is visible on the internet archive mirror of the specifications page on Sony.co.uk dated the 12th April 2022. The website has been updated to reflect the neutered specification and impossible to compare JEITA output values. I find this change borderline deceitful especially given that I had preordered this device expecting the earlier advertised specification with High Gain and 250MW @ 16Ohms. The result of this is a player that has a great sound but is so terribly restricted in the equipment one can enjoy it with. I strongly suspect that Sony only tested the European firmware with their own MDR-Z1R and IER-Z1R. These products can be driven to an adequate level with this player but with little to no overhead after the fact. Comparatively inefficient planar magnetic headphones like Dan Clark Audio's Aeon RT and the Fostex T60RP are not sufficiently driven to an adequate level. As such I cannot recommend this player for these and other headphones like them. I'm disappointed in this product's performance given the poor power output and absence of high gain mode yet again in Europe for another of Sony's high end walkman players. The player itself is larger than the NW507 and runs a more recent version of the Android operating system (Android 11 vs Android 9) - the 507 is more pocketable than the 1AM2. but the 1AM2 feels more solid in the hand. Absent of this gross restriction this would be a 5* review with a recommendation to others to purchase - but given the increased cost over the NW507 and the same asthmatic performance for the European model I am compelled to rate this lower than my rating for that product. I cannot honestly believe the European model is the embodiment of the vision of the designers. If you are in Asia or North America - I would have no issue recommending this product at least for evaluation, in Europe; please avoid until Sony rectify this obvious hobbling. The European model is a poor value for money - and has little going in it's favour as compared to competitor's models at a similar price point.

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

83

7

9 Customer Reviews

0

Rediscovering my love for music all over again

NW-WM1AM2//CE 17 September 2022 by Rebeccay (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am no audiophile and I mostly listens to music from my phone for the past decade out of convenience. Having auditioned the wm1am2, I was absolutely blown away by the detail, clarity, soundstage, depth of every piece i had listened to, be it rock, pop, classical, or vocals. I cannot believe my ears, it was as if i had never really listened to any of these pieces. Some of these pieces/songs I must have listened to a hundred times and they had never sounded so enjoyable. I felt transported and touched by each piece as i sat there playing one song after another. I waited a few weeks after the audition before placing an order for the product, during which I simply could not get the the way the music/songs sounded on the wm1am2 out of my mind. I could not listen to music on my phone anymore as they sounded so bad in comparison to the wm1am2. It has been 4 weeks since i took delivery of the wm1am2, and I had been listening to it everyday and rediscovering my love for music all over again. I would highly recommend this to all music lovers, you would not regret this purchase.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great simple solution

NWWM1AM2 05 September 2022 by Singapore Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not an experienced audiophile and was looking for a product I could use from a trusted brand. This ticked all the boxes and has the added benefits of Android software and streaming capability with 4.4 and 3.5 jacks! Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Sound - Terrible Value - Quiet Output (EU)

NW-WM1AM2 21 July 2022 by tsiklon (United Kingdom)

To get the elephant in the room out of the way first - this machine exists in two forms, and is not the same worldwide. If you purchase this in Europe you will receive a system with a significantly neutered power output, as compared with that available in North America and Asia. This limitation is set in firmware at the factory and there is no known way to subvert this currently. The result of this is that the system will struggle to drive inefficient headphones and IEMs. Unfortunately when this was first initially advertised for preorder in Europe they did not inform customers of this limitation, and the specifications as advertised at the time indicate the presence of a high gain mode and improved power output via the 4.4mm Jack. This is visible on the internet archive mirror of the specifications page on Sony.co.uk dated the 12th April 2022. The website has been updated to reflect the neutered specification and impossible to compare JEITA output values. I find this change borderline deceitful especially given that I had preordered this device expecting the earlier advertised specification with High Gain and 250MW @ 16Ohms. The result of this is a player that has a great sound but is so terribly restricted in the equipment one can enjoy it with. I strongly suspect that Sony only tested the European firmware with their own MDR-Z1R and IER-Z1R. These products can be driven to an adequate level with this player but with little to no overhead after the fact. Comparatively inefficient planar magnetic headphones like Dan Clark Audio's Aeon RT and the Fostex T60RP are not sufficiently driven to an adequate level. As such I cannot recommend this player for these and other headphones like them. I'm disappointed in this product's performance given the poor power output and absence of high gain mode yet again in Europe for another of Sony's high end walkman players. The player itself is larger than the NW507 and runs a more recent version of the Android operating system (Android 11 vs Android 9) - the 507 is more pocketable than the 1AM2. but the 1AM2 feels more solid in the hand. Absent of this gross restriction this would be a 5* review with a recommendation to others to purchase - but given the increased cost over the NW507 and the same asthmatic performance for the European model I am compelled to rate this lower than my rating for that product. I cannot honestly believe the European model is the embodiment of the vision of the designers. If you are in Asia or North America - I would have no issue recommending this product at least for evaluation, in Europe; please avoid until Sony rectify this obvious hobbling. The European model is a poor value for money - and has little going in it's favour as compared to competitor's models at a similar price point.

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

83

7

0

Fantastic mp3 player

NW-WM1AM2//CE 15 July 2022 by Listening at Tampines (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Seriously make the music very enjoyable for me. Can hear sounds I didn't know you exist

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony has a lot of work to do on this

NW-WM1AM2 10 June 2022 by KevP1 (United Kingdom)

Although there is an initial firmware update, which I have downloaded, oh my, has Sony got some work to do! It feels like bad beta software. Laggy. Crashes often. Processor can't seem to handle Android 11. I have tried downloading offline content on Tidal. Very slow or just crashes. No such issues with other DAPs, with the same version of Tidal. Everyone talks about the volume cap and I thought, oh, it can't be as bad as people are saying. Well it is! Full volume, using quite efficient headphones that are designed for mobile use, is really low. And I mean "really" low. I was stunned. Slightly better with earphones. All in all, a big disappointment. But Sony can improve performance with some very quick and significant firmware upgrades. They should have the resources to do this. But the volume cap (that, by the way, doesn't seem to affect Son'y's competitors)? I'm assuming that's not fixable.

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

69

14

0

Great features

NW-WM1AM2 17 May 2022 by Ângelo2022 (United Kingdom)

So far I am very happy. The sound is absolutely amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

40

0

A Long-awaited Upgrade

NW-WM1AM2//CE 15 May 2022 by equinoxial (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The WM1AM2 runs on Android 11, so you can enjoy streaming on Apple Music and Tidal in Hi-Res Lossless and Master Quality. The WM1AM2 has a V-shaped sound signature - a "silver sound". It has a strong bass and treble extension, best suited for fast-paced and aggressive music genres. The lower mids are not overly resolving and they have a "fuzzy" quality, characteristic to the Sony Walkman. A unique soundstage depth with holographic imaging will be unlocked when paired with the right IEM. The WM1AM2 can be rather picky with IEMs, but once you find the right pairing, you'll be in for a treat!

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

341

1

0

Fantastic & highest quality sound

NW-WM1AM2//CE 05 May 2022 by Nardysg (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Blown away by the sound quality! For those that are looking for fantastic sound. This is it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Love the sound quality

NW-WM1AM2//CE 03 May 2022 by KJinMin (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from ZX2 that I’ve purchased when it was first launched. This is a big improvement Tested both 1ZM2 and 1AM2, and I find that 1AM2 signature sounds better Not sure why. But hey it’s cheaper too. That works for me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0