77

3.9 based on 77 customer reviews

31
20
16
6
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Rich sound - gives me T-Rex ripples at 10'!

htct390 26 November 2016 by Arawho (USA)

Sound from older Sony TV wasn't cutting it and I didn't have the money to upgrade my set - so this was a compromise - and what a compromise! Sound is great - woofer packs a rumble - only drawback is the wireless sub occasionally loses connection and system needs a hard reboot - minor inconvenience for the sound. Just upgraded to a 4K 55" and sound bar still synchs beautifully. Thanks folks!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good when it works

HT-CT390 23 October 2016 by 581eyk (United Kingdom)

Bought this soundbar at the same time to go with a new Sony TV. It's connected through HDMI lead to ARC HDMI port and although the TV recognises the audio system half the time it does not work very very disappointed. Even Sony help line can not help. Having said that when it does works very pleased with it, loud enough and the subwoofer gives plenty of bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

104 Customer Reviews

0

Sony for sound

300W 05 April 2019 by ThomasTan (Singapore)

I bought Sony audio products for decades. Earphones. Speakers. They have the best sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds Great

HT-CT390 24 March 2019 by Woo20 (USA)

Bought this a few years ago. Only dislike is the sub woofer randomly disconnects. This last time I can'tj get it to reconnect. Read manual and tried pairing it again with no luck.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Neat but flawed

HT-CT390 20 February 2019 by Arlo Flang (United Kingdom)

I've had this unit for a couple of years now. The sound is not bad for the price, but I wish I'd gone up the range a bit. A particular gripe is how often the soundbar and sub woofer do not connect.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Love the sound

htct390 12 November 2018 by Brady 12 (USA)

We have owned it for a week and love the sound, especially music. My only dissapointment is lack control of bass and treble. I'd like more bass.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not Bad But !

HT-CT390 09 November 2018 by Tony 99 (USA)

Okay I have had this system for 2 years now and it still works. The audio is clear but lower than my 120$ Vizio sounderbar. The sub likes to disconnect at random times. ON certain times the audio never matches up unless it is 4K I am running a Sony 55 4K bravia via ARk and I have no idea why I some of these issues but I do. Wish it was mountable to the tv stand and not the wall. When it works properly its not bad but very not worth the cost they charge>

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

for the cost , this is a disappointment

HT-CT390 15 August 2018 by TaxmanOriginal (United Kingdom)

Sadly this soundbar is not what I would have expected from Sony. I had a Samsung sound bar prior to this and it was also a 2.1 system , however I guess in the electronic wizardry department, the Samsung was able to give the illusion of 5.1 surround sound , in the fact that sound of movement would appear to coincide with the action on the screen. IE footsteps appearing to move from left to right behind me as was displayed on the screen. The Sony appears to be locked into a flat 2 dimensional space and lacks the ability to produce a good 3d sound experience. The design is good for the wall mounted bar , however the sub-woofer lacks character. There are some good features to the soundbar , the remote control from my I phone. the blue tooth connectivity. However given the price tag I would have thought the system could have lent itself to be able to tirelessly connect additional speakers to the system to enable expansion.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Buggy connection with TV

300W 27 June 2018 by Augus (Singapore)

Pro: - Nice and loud sound, convenient at level 20-30. Listening music is very enjoyable. Mostly for watching youtube. - Soundbar automatically off when TV turned off - Bought at attractive discounted price. Cons: - Connected through HDMI ARC, but need to set the sound separately with TV. - Soundbar not automatically on when turned on the TV - If soundbar is on manually before TV is on, need to restart the soundbar, because no sound at all. - One time subwoofer lose connection with soundbar, the only way to fix it is to power off the subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to set up - great to use

HT-CT390 05 June 2018 by Chrisdesford (United Kingdom)

Been meaning to get a sound bar for our Sony TV for ages- what a difference it makes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good design and sound quality

htct390 19 May 2018 by stephen7 (USA)

The design and the sound quality are much better than my previous sound bar, and it fits my surrounding and Song TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound bar

300W 11 May 2018 by Jerry9399 (Singapore)

It was gift to me but set has many problems. Had to send back service center for repairs

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Neat and compact with good sound

HT-CT390 03 May 2018 by Stevie78 (United Kingdom)

Really nice product - very easy set up and pleased with the results for a reasonably priced and compact system. This replaced a 5.1 system with separate amp, and the low profile design really suits the room. I would have liked to connect to my Sony Bravia TV via HDMI, but the TV is lacking sockets, so am using the optical link - but working fine. Overall, happy with purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Critical positioning

HT-CT390 17 April 2018 by JohnGK (United Kingdom)

For new Sony Bravia 43ins including metal stand mounted on same platform as sound bar. Sound bar has to slope 45 deg otherwise sensor for TV remote is obscured. Also no fixings to install on same platform but are to install sound bar on wall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the sound! Great bass!

HT-CT390 15 April 2018 by Magana19 (USA)

Bought this last year on special! No regrets!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Design flaw

HT-CT390 01 March 2018 by Mosbr (United Kingdom)

Bought this to go with oils new Sony Bravia 43inch tv. The illustration showed the sound bar either wall mounted or in front of the tv which was on it stand. However the sound bar block is the remote sensor on the tv when placed in front of the tv. The sound bar itself is great. Would have scored 4 stars apart from this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

no control over treble

HT-CT390 23 February 2018 by lenny69 (United Kingdom)

sounds good for music but tinny on everything else, you can control the bass but not the treble and it tends to sound tinny on tv programs, connecting via hdmi arc the volume is a lot lower than optical and no way is it 300 watts, overall a good looking soundbar and well made but seeing as its from sony am dissapointed with the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Piece of Kit

HT-CT390 19 February 2018 by MacaCivico (United Kingdom)

I am so Happy with the sound quality that I sold my Hi Fi equipment which I was using for TV sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great features! Bluetooth/DVD music & karaoke.

300W 14 February 2018  (Singapore)

I bought it a month ago and am so glad that even play music via Bluetooth as well as DVD player for karaoke sounds very good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My first soundbar

HT-CT390 10 February 2018 by JKJEK (United Kingdom)

This is my first soundbar so difficult to compare to others but it certainly vastly improves the sound to that put out by the TV speakers. The sub-woofer is not noticable, at all, when watching live TV but comes into it's own when watching BluRay disc's from my connected BluRay player. It is very sleek design and sits well on the same shelf under the TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor sound bar

HT-CT390 08 February 2018 by Robert 29 (United Kingdom)

I bought this sound bar hoping for an enhanced sound experience but was left less than impressed with it's performance.Tried it in different settings but still unimpressed with it so much so that I returned it .

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Great Soundbar!

htct390 07 February 2018  (USA)

I recieved this Soundbar as a CHristmas gift and am reall enjoying the opportunity to get the speaker wires our of my family room. The quality of the sound is very rich. I also enjoyed the ease and simplicity of installation/set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality sound

HT-CT390 07 February 2018 by Mikei (United Kingdom)

Bought this in the hope to hear speech clearer, only fault I have got is tha the height causes me to have to raise my tv controls higher as the sound bar slightly obstructs the remote receiver. This stopped me awarding 5 stars as I have a Sony tv and thought this problem would not account with having both Sony appliances.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Christmas gift

htct390 02 February 2018 by Peace123 (USA)

I was excited to get the sound system but the volume isn't good. The sound is nice but you have to turn the volume on highest level . I have my tv on 15 since I added the sound bar & the subwoofer I play it on 30.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

htct390 31 January 2018 by GB 84 (USA)

I have owned this unit for a month. Poor sound quality, poor design. Sub woofer stopped working after 2 weeks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great design and audio

HT-CT390 26 January 2018  (USA)

I choose this soundbar for the design, and the audio in my livingroom was a surprise, wa great and inmerse us in the movies. The subwoofer is great too. I have a cuestion, Is better a HDMI ARC conection o opticval conection? I have both option in my tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better sound from tv

HT-CT390 26 January 2018 by Dave F (United Kingdom)

I have used the sound bar on different settings and found that the quality of sound when watching a film is terrible not clear sounds hollow and echoes

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sounds great when it works

HT-CT390 23 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

Sounds great when it works :-( The soundbar is connected via HDMI / ARC to a Sony Bravia 55" TV, but loses its connectivity constantly. Using Bravia Sync makes no difference

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony 2.1 soundbar

htct390 09 January 2018 by ringleider (USA)

Purchased over a month ago, open box excellent condition! sound is great amd I don't even have to turn it up very loud. very easy set up for a non tech person. use in master bedroom. Sony outdid themselves again!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Features

300W 04 January 2018 by Sith Lord (Singapore)

I'm glad i got it. Hope they come out with a 5.1ch Soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product and awesome value!

htct390 26 December 2017 by helcat5 (USA)

This is a wonderful product for the value. I didn't expect much, but was totally blown away by the sound quality and ease of installation. I'm very satisfied!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good besides connectivity problems with the Sub

htct390 18 December 2017 by JBJD (USA)

When the soundbar and subwoofer work, the sound is excellent. However, I purchased this unit a month ago and I already have issues with the subwoofer connecting to the soundbar. I have followed all of the troubleshooting instructions in the manual and the subwoofer will still not pair with the soundbar. Very disappointed that a problem like this happened so quickly. After the problem happened and I tried fixing the issue I did a little research and it appears that this is a common problem with this unit. Either there was a large batch that somehow made it through quality control, or there is a serious issue with this unit as a whole. Buyer beware.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound,brilliant connection features

HT-CT390 10 December 2017 by LEEEEE (United Kingdom)

Value for money,sounds fantastic,bring a rich sound for such a compact unit,looks are very deceiving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT390 06 December 2017 by John the fat one (United Kingdom)

Great sound compliments my Sony tv like the fact that it helps the hard of hearing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a Sony

htct390 03 December 2017 by Valker (USA)

I have other Sony products and this soundbar fit with my Bravia TV with little to no problems syncing them together, easy and perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Generally good

htct390 30 November 2017 by Jas7 (USA)

The volume on movies (via Apple TV -> iTunes, Netflix) is surprisingly low, but volume on music (via Apple TV iTune) is really great. I don’t know why that is and I’m thinking of sending it back.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Won't connect

HT-CT390 23 November 2017 by Trollyboy (USA)

When i bought it. It didn't work. I send it 2 times for a repare and now. It's agan broken. It won't connect with the subwoofer

0

0

0

Easy setup with great sound

HT-CT390 20 October 2017 by Linx1 (United Kingdom)

Purchased along with new Sony smart TV. Sound is excellent and because of its low profile sits beautifully below the screen. The wireless sub gives added oomph to movies. An all round great performer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

HT-CT390 18 October 2017 by Derk 1 (United Kingdom)

Great improvement over TV speakers, more depth and clarity with the ability to adjust the clarity of the spoken word

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great item.

HT-CT390 12 October 2017 by ozzie 7 (United Kingdom)

It is a great product and the sound is very good i would recommend it,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

HT-CT390 28 September 2017 by Brother Louie (USA)

I am completely satisfied with the performance of my sound bar. A great value for such a reasonable price . I would strongly recommend it.

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Just a fair soundbar

300W 23 September 2017 by teppanyaki (Singapore)

Bought the soundbar together with TV during IC show in March 2017, just about 5months, the system could not remotely controlled. Sony should intergrate the TV or soundbar in one remote controller for easy operation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Beware of DTS-HD/TrueHD Audio Support

HT-CT390 18 August 2017 by bk117a4 (USA)

I bought this Soundbar, believing it supported both formats, because the photo under the "Get connected" section erroneously displays the DTS-HD and TrueHD audio format logos, but in reality, the Soundbar only supports Dolby Digital and DTS, which is DVD quality sound support, not Blu-ray. I was unable to return the Soundbar, because the seller won't take responsibility for Sony advertising error. I reported the advertising error to technical support 2 days ago, but the old picture is still on the website.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Grate 2.1 ch Soundbar

300W 13 July 2017  (Singapore)

Excellent sound quality with 2.1ch and design of the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Inconsistent

htct390 09 July 2017 by ctw35 (USA)

Audio started to stutter recently and bt doesn't pair always

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent Soundbar

300W 03 July 2017 by Yunz (Singapore)

I bought it a few weeks ago at courts, even thought its one of the lower end soundbar. Its still give you a decent sound effect and it feels like you in a cinema.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features!!

htct390 25 June 2017 by MJBand2 (USA)

Bought this to replace an LG sound bar. The sound is excellent and being and Bluetooth ability is fantastic. Setting up access to soundbar through a cell phone app is also fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Happy

300W 20 June 2017 by Asher79 (Singapore)

Happy with everything, great product and sound quality is good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Necessity with the TV

HT-CT390 09 May 2017 by s955 (United Kingdom)

Purchased this in conjunction with a Sony TV as the TV speakers are not up to scratch, great product, but one complaint, if you are going to put your tv on the wall good idea to put it above the tv as there is no facility to feed the wires behind the speaker. Making it difficult to fit cleanly against the wall.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT390 01 May 2017 by Jon1972 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks back when I was replacing everything in my living room , I am impressed with the sound quality and the bass is great , really brings films to life, very happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great

htct390 29 April 2017 by Eddie3472 (USA)

I bought this after exchanging a LG soundbar that had the sound cut out every few minutes. Since I am limited, fits in a large upright cabinet, with space this fits great with a TV riser and the subwoofer compliments the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sound quality

HT-CT390 16 April 2017 by Susaan51 (United Kingdom)

As someone who wears hearing aids and as difficulty with sound when watching TV I purchased my first sound bar. This product although not entirely perfect has helped my enjoyment of viewing TV and hearing speech much better. I would recommend

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great depth

HT-CT390 14 April 2017 by Moomin (United Kingdom)

Very pleased so far - great tone & depth Looks good with Sony tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Soundbar Review

htct390 28 March 2017 by UNDN (USA)

Comes with a remote control for standard volume and SW volume giving a numeric setting level for ease of comparison. Automatically shuts down after a time when not in use. Excellent volume range and base depth. Very realistic sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Soundbar!!

htct390 24 March 2017 by Kfire (USA)

Best soundbar I ever purchased. So easy to setup and enjoy. Awesome sound! Good soundbar for the money!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good crisp sound

300W 23 March 2017 by Schsnt (Singapore)

Chose this against another brand's 7.1ch soundbar which was 200dollars less. Bass is a little lower than I expected, maybe because the in-store demo was at full blast. In the end, quite happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Pretty good sound

HT-CT390 08 March 2017 by richard703 (United Kingdom)

good warm sound, good with film effects, wireless sub woofer can be a bit temperamental

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Disapointed

htct390 05 March 2017 by Anil1964 (USA)

I bought in nov 2016 worked until last week but now sub woofer efficiency went down to 50% earlier there was green light on woofer but now remains orange it looks working but like earlier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Sound Bar volume and quality of sound

HT-CT390 03 March 2017 by Nicknames used up (United Kingdom)

Delivered and set up last week in December since when I have struggled with it. No sound below 20. got a "solution" from my retailer which cost me a cable to connect ear phone connection on TV to sound bar. Did not work. Sound from TV speaker much louder. Wish we had the Panasoniv back!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0