210

4.1 based on 210 customer reviews

111
55
21
9
14
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HDRCX405/B 28 April 2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to work, little problems on the menu otherwise very functional

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Be cautious with the reviews!

HDR-CX405 21 May 2018 by Kel1203 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel I have been cheated by the reviews - the sound is rubbish and some say it's brilliant! Such a lie. I used it to interview people and you have to max the TV/PC volume to hear it, the camcorder is generally ok and easy to use, but this is a massive let down. And you can't even attached a mic. If you want it for anything closeup, then this is a winner. I bought this because it can film for a longer period than my max of 30 minute canon camera, but if you 'pause' enough it will be fine - I wish I used my camera instead and certainly will do so in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

210 Customer Reviews

0

Small, light weight, can take it anywhere

HDRCX405B 06 August 2022 by Renee53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our daughter is in love with her new Sony camcorder! She enjoys its convenient size, and weight making it easy to use anytime and anywhere. The zoom feature is fabulous and clear, and it’s nice to have an option for pictures too. I highly recommend this camcorder for anyone who is looking for a simple, small, and easy to use camcorder for vacations, birthdays, holidays and hanging out with friends. The price is affordable too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice pictures but

HDRCX405B 23 July 2022 by JGAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera will not update to the latest firmware….

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Horrible picture quality

HDRCX405B 30 June 2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Horrible picture quality. I didn't go any further than that. It was worse than any smart phone I've ever owned.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

simplicity itself

HDR-CX405 16 June 2022 by Seamusg (United Kingdom)

i received the cx405 last week and have used it a few times before i go on holiday to learn how it functions and it was real easy to use and i was impressed with the colour reproduction.I wanted to upload the videos to my computer and play back on my tv to make sure things were running smoothly and after a few minutes everything was go.So i would definately recommend the cx405

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HDRCX405B 11 May 2022 by Teseract86 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder is simple to use and lightweight, and has a couple of camera effects built in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievably Great Videos From A Compact Machine

HDRCX405B 03 May 2022 by Babalooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was so light I wasn't expecting much from this camera when purchased but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the videos. This little, light camera has become my go to camera to carry with me at all times. Very happy with my purchase!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic!

HDRCX405B 26 April 2022 by Charles of the Ritz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with purchase. Easy to operate. Compact size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Sucks

HDRCX405B 07 March 2022 by Mellogrrl65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried getting a hold of someone for help. Good luck getting help. Their camcorders are horrible. I bought mine 2018 and it's ruined one of my SD card. Another old camcorder of theirs stopped taking cassettes. All of these contain memories of all of my dogs who died. NEVER BUY ANY SONY PRODUCT!!!!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Fine little camcorder

HDR-CX405 05 March 2022 by gbarac72 (United Kingdom)

This is fine little HD camera with great picture and sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not Happy

HDRCX405/B 14 February 2022 by Mellogrrl65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in 2018, used this maybe a few dozen times and I'm starting to have problems. It's been freezing and making memories I have on the card, skip or distorted. These cards I have are memories of three dogs that have passed on. I'm very upset considering I haven't used it much and it's already crapping out. This is the second Sony camcorder that has done this. I will NEVER buy Sony camcorder again. I have memories of my now deceased dogs where words are cut out and pictures distorted. And yes, I'm great at keep my things clean and away from moisture and heat.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Awesome starter camcorder

HDRCX405B 06 February 2022 by Shogun assasin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product for the price I’m more than pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

HDR-CX405 29 January 2022 by Stevie Q (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder as a replacement for a Panasonic V100 which I've had for 10+ years but was showing it's age, only recorded in HD 1080i at 25fps and the microphone had started to pick-up internal noise. Otherwise it has been an excellent camcorder. I chose the CX405 because the equivalent Panasonic was out-of-stock everywhere. I was expecting the Sony to give improved pictures over my old Panny as it could record in 1080p at 50fps, but am disappointed that the clarity is no better and the Panasonic gives smoother panning (no pun intended) than the Sony. I would be tempted to return it if it wasn't for the audio problem with the Panny and I need a camcorder. I have to say though that it hasn't reached my expectations. In some respects I feel I've wasted my money.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good video camera and camcorder

HDR-CX405 11 January 2022 by kenpopat (United Kingdom)

sorry no photos as I have not stored any photos just yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My review for HDRCX405

HDRCX405B 22 December 2021 by Doris Jean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love It. It is easy to use and it takes excellent photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera for Virginia Water art society for demos

HDR-CX405 26 November 2021 by macamera (United Kingdom)

We have a demonstration at our monthly meeting and so that everyone can see we project it on to large screen our old Sony action camera broke and found this to be ideal have not had a chance to use it properly yet but will let you know how we get on.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Handycan

HDR-CX405 01 November 2021 by Highlander67 (United Kingdom)

Have wanted a cam for a wee while This is a fantastic cam, fairly easy to use, takes good photos as well as the video cam aspect. Reasonably priced ... would recommend the camera to friends and fam

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW !

HDRCX405B 15 October 2021 by sonyken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super light, super easy to use and great movies and photos, for a great price !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camcorder

HDR-CX405 10 August 2021 by Ess Eff Emm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice little camcorder, bought recently to take videos and pictures from visits to sites that I undertake, which it does very well. Photos transfer up to the computer but so far unable to upload videos, even with the video software at sony.net/pm.... Need to get that sorted somehow in order to upload and then it will fulfill all that I need it for.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cheap and Cheerful

HDR-CX405 14 July 2021 by user 25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a replacement for a Canon camera which had given up the ghost because Canon models that I was interested in were not available. The model is quite small and light and appears to be mainly built of plastic. Lens and picture quality appear on a par with my previous model. Access to features is by a button which appears not to be particularly robust. As with all such cameras there is no view finder these days which to my mind is a retrograde step. Seems reasonable for the price I paid

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fair camera

HDRCX405B 13 July 2021 by Gofer303 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this cam for a general use always on hand unit. The first problem is the white balance when in auto mode really has bad results, manual WB only passable. Cant plug in power and record at the same time. No android compatable software, otherwise is a fair deal..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No charging

HDRCX405/B 19 June 2021 by Jr9542 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a year ago and the battery no longer charges

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My Review for HDRCX405B camera is a glowing one.

HDRCX405B 16 June 2021 by amateur cook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to make some Cooking videos for YouTube. I had not owned a video camera before so I did a lot of research before I purchased my Sony CX-405. My research led me to the right choice. The camera was affordable, compact to handle and use on the tripod I purchased along with it. It thinks for itself and gets me to the right settings automatically. It takes great shots even though I don't know much about photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The camera works great......

HDRCX405/B 06 June 2021 by tim4372 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

But the process to register it is extremely frustrating. I am at the step where you guys ask for a proof of purchase, the model and serial numbers. I have been taken in a continuous loop, after I upload the picture, provide the model number, serial number, purchase date and where I purchased the camcorder, I take back to the page asking if I want a warranty. This page precedes the model and serial number page. Then, I will start the process all over again. Other than that, the product works great!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

handy size and functions

HDR-CX405 27 May 2021 by chrissunbeam (United Kingdom)

good alround camera. wish it was easier to change from video to still, bit of a nightmare downloading data if you dont do it often an forget how.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I like the video it takes but there is a fault

HDR-CX405 26 April 2021 by DaveG77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the image quality and the weight of this camcorder. but there is a fault that it sometimes does not record. I tried resetting it as suggested but I havnt had the time to test it since. I do hope the fault is corrected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Camcorder

HDR-CX405 08 April 2021 by Marriott96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this handy camcorder for about 5 years now and it's just as good when I received it as a present, I would highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great thing will happen to you

HDRCX405/B 30 March 2021 by Seacaptain2021 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

HD cameras are the talk of the town. Buy a Sony CX405 and join the trend setters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Doesn't Work Unless You Buy A Memory Card Separate

HDR-CX405 20 March 2021 by VeryVeryUnhappy (USA)

I can't rate the blasted thing, because it doesn't work as sold. It doesn't come with a memory card and it doesn't work without one. Now I have to figure out what card to buy and where, and what's an acceptable price. No warning of this anywhere in the marketing. Thought I was getting a working camcorder for the advertised price. Live and learn, I guess, but what an odd sales practice. If I ever order a car online, maybe it will be delivered without tires.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Probably the best basic camera on the markey

HDR-CX405 16 February 2021 by Adrian61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought 5 for streaming church services. The image quality it excellent, even in lighting conditions which are not the brightest. You can only get a clean hdmi output on 1080 and with hdmi ctrl off. It has basic facilities, no Wi-fi for example, but it is excellent for our purposes. If streaming, recommend the use of fibre optic cables.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Impressive handycam in a small package

HDR-CX405/BCE35 22 January 2021 by Nizam78 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a handycam to replace my ageing non-HD handycam, and this is suitable one to meet my budget!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a camera...

HDR-CX405 04 January 2021 by StickMan11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this camera. It does camerary things......like a camera.

3

4

0

Mostly great. love the zoom, but no external mike

HDRCX405B 04 January 2021 by jim_W (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very easy to use with all controls easy to use. I love the zoom range, it actually amazing. I wished I could connect a wireless make to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

takes excellent vixeos

HDRCX405B 21 December 2020 by Oregonian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it over a year and it is so compact and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

HDRCX405/B 20 December 2020 by Family Cam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few years ago and it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No external Mic

HDRCX405/B 14 November 2020 by Zalva (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not really happy that I can not use an external mic.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Compact and easy to use

HDR-CX405 25 August 2020 by LindaJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, handy (!) camcorder - easy to use. Still working on the editing side but like the quality of video produced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

GREAT LITTLE CAMERA

HDRCX405/B 19 July 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WE USE IT FOR FISHING / BEACH TRIPS. WORKS GREAT.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like the curate's egg - good in parts

HDR-CX405 20 June 2020 by TJRS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The eternal problem for me is that I'm not at bright as the average customer. The amount of prior knowledge that I am assumed to have by the manufacturer before I take delivery of their product is completely baseless. And that means I am invariably struggling to get the best from the item - in this case my CX405 handicam. What is the most appropriate card to go out and buy to put in it. No clue in the instructions. What programme do I install on my laptop to edit the results. No clue in the instructions. How do I edit the results and trim it up and present something watchable to my family and friends. No clue. How do I use the refinements the camera claims to have. What do they do to the pictures. What mode does what. The list is endless. The result is the camera isn't used and can't be enjoyed. One day I may work it all out but in the meantime only buy this if you have owned and enjoyed having a handicam before. I expect its quite good. Four stars because the lip on the screen that you use to open the thing up is too small and it takes several goes before it stops slipping back shut having issued an infuriating little 'ping' each time you fail to open it. Oh, and it needs somewhere to attach a lanyard as I hang it round my neck whilst I out on my walks.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

4

0

Whether you're an armature or Professional

HDRCX405B 16 June 2020 by Satisficed Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After having my Sony HD-CX405 video cam nearly a month, I have not stopped using it. The interface is extraordinary. The mobility feature makes using it easy in any situation. I use it to film many events, indoor and outdoor waterever the lighting situation you have to deal with, this handy cam has you covered. I use it to film my church services, the results are astounding in the picture quality. The ability to zoom in and out are smooth and with professional results. And taking still photos are easy and with high quality results. I only wish I had bought one sooner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Great features but hard to understand instructions

HDRCX405/B 29 May 2020 by odb4god (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like ti but hard to understand instruction on all the features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Slightly Disappointing

HDR-CX405 27 February 2020 by Peter214 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera to film a Village stage play, The first attempt the battery ran out half way through the second act. On the second attempt the the charging lead was used and the whole play (two hours long) captured successfully . The picture quality is reasonable but slow to focus and the camera was slow to respond to changes in light levels.Changing the camera settings seems to require a lot of practise as the menus are small and difficult to interpret and the selection button very fiddly. Downloading to Play Memories Home (PMH) took a long time and editing the film was not easy using PMH. A cut and paste facility on PMH would be very helpful. Adding captions also took time to master. Saving the film after editing took nearly two hours. I am sure this camera would be great for taking short clips.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Great for beginner

HDRCX405/B 18 February 2020 by Ezwandy Ahmad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I. Love it.....love it.... really love....nice....godd

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great features great picture and easy to use

HDR-CX405 18 February 2020 by Tollie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy. Small light and very portable. Not sure about battery life yet because have only had for a month.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 16 February 2020 by DaveyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this camera after researching various brands of similar priced ones. I have had Sony Handycams before over a good number of years and been satisfied. This camera has proved to be very good value, light in weight and easy to get used to. The simple functions and menus are intuitive so I took some minutes. The quality looks fine to me and transferring the video via the micro SD card to my PC proved so much more convenient with no wire connections to set up. I like this little camera a lot.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

light weight-easy to read instructions

HDRCX405/B 17 January 2020 by jimby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this for Christmas to take pictures and videos of the hummingbirds in our backyard. It is way smarter then I am but fun to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

First bad Sony product I've owned

HDR-CX405 14 January 2020 by lawyer121212121 (USA)

It's already been sent for repair once and it's going back for the exact same issue. When recording videos, on playback, there is a blur/fuzzy/hazy area in the lower center of the images videotaped. Received it back from repair with the exact same issue. So, sending it back again and not expecting anything to change. Waste of money!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great picture and great value

HDRCX405B 06 January 2020 by Jeff1964 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 months ago and used it to record my kids' hockey games. We re-watch "films" on 55" TV screens and have used the free SONY software on a desktop computer to store videos. Potential downsides: * Camera itself feels very lightweight so I wonder about durability. No problems yet. * Batteries that came with the camera (one original and one aftermarket) are small form factor and don't always last through an hour long event. * LCD screen is relatively small and using controls on screen is challenging for adult (aka old) eyes. I have to remove the memory card and insert it into a computer to delete media files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light and easy to use

HDR-CX405 19 December 2019 by Karen Christmas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought this for my daughter's Christmas present but must admit I have had a little tinker with it myself. The operating instructions are very easy to understand and transferring data from the camera to her laptop was very straightforward. I like that the camera is light and easy to hold and the fact that you can attach it to a tripod is also appreciated. The recorded sound is also of a good quality. I'm very pleased with this camera and definitely happy to recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Loving iT

HDRCX405/B 29 November 2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice Product & Quality........ i Really Really Love iT.,.

Design

Good

1

1

0

Great features at a great price

HDRCX405B 26 November 2019 by RayA61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using this for about a month. Camera works great, is easy to use, and takes fantastic movies and photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Features!

HDRCX405/B 15 October 2019 by Tho Le (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it four months ago, and I've been in like with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feels cheap and nasty.

HDR-CX405 09 October 2019 by BGFR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this video camera recently. It really does feel cheap and nasty although it produces reasonably good videos and snaps. I am surprised at Sony compromising their good name by marketing such a plastic and flimsy product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

First use impressions

HDRCX405/B 06 October 2019 by KGKSYR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought if just before a wedding, user's manual could be more helpful but overall was fairly easy to record videos. The screen images while shooting in low light conditions seemed better than the playback images and the autofocus was having some difficulty but overall I was pleased with the results. The zoom feature was great, really zoomed in well considering how light and compact the unit is . Still need to figure out how to edit and splice all the segments into one smooth flowing video. It is almost too small and too light to keep steady and controls are pretty small for anyone with large hands. Excellent picture quality in well lit conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb range and quality images on video

HDR-CX405 23 September 2019 by Reidyclan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this for a long planned bush safari where we would be travelling a lot and needed lightweight products. The video features and zoom are great. Very lightweight and superb to use , even for a left handed. Photos were a lot trickier and needed more practice so suggest do that before leave so you know how to get razor sharp images, otherwise you will be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awsome

HDR-CX405 07 September 2019 by Stiggs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome cam loads of options in the menus easy to use check out my review on YouTube the Drone novice.... And the Urban Cook....... Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Compact and powerful

HDRCX405/B 03 August 2019 by Kim G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love this handycam and the clarity of the video/photos is great. The zoom feature is good as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great video quality!

HDRCX405/B 13 July 2019 by Anthony10101 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camera is amazing for youtube and other video sharing sites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good images

HDR-CX405 09 July 2019 by Dixon5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only purchased this recently and, as a first time user of the product, it is taking some time to get familiar with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

what a sweet unit you are!!

HDRCX405/B 05 July 2019 by scraps 855 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great camcorder!!!! light,compact,60xzoom is wonderfull.clarity when recording is as sharp and clear as my tv.thanks sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good camera for a cheap price

HDR-CX405 29 June 2019 by Dsfinnegan (USA)

I no longer have this camera anymore, as I have sold it, however, I did have a good time using this camera. Very good video quality and good image stabilization. However, I wasn't huge with the autofocus clicking noise during video. It's not loud, but it is noticeable when you listen closely. For anyone looking for a cheap camcorder with good video quality, I would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camcorder

HDRCX405B 26 June 2019 by BDT24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder is easy to use and video is awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Litle Unit

HDR-CX405 26 June 2019 by Lemac (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a specific event and I have not been let down by the ease of use and clarity of recorded items

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good Quality HD video

HDRCX405B 16 June 2019 by CeP CIO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish it had a WIFI and remote included as items shipped and not something to try and find and buy as after thought

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy and efficient

HDRCX405B 27 May 2019 by characterShort (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, great image. 26 character too short huh? Well don't get so snippy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera for the price

HDR-CX405 08 May 2019 by Gusgib (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Twenty years ago I purchased a Sony Mini DV Camcorder for Nine hundred pounds...it was brilliant! It had loads of features and I loved it but technology moves on and for a fraction of the cost I have a better picture with a fantastic optical zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

simple operation

HDRCX405B 02 May 2019 by old goat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

got this camera when my grandson started jv baseball, then onto varsity ! I have filmed 8 games so far with excellent results. easy to use great zoom and very good quality video ! for the price can't be beat !

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

what abt mic input...

HDR-CX405 17 April 2019 by JacobA07 (USA)

i have not had this nor used it, but i can already tell that it does not have a mic input, and am ery dissapointed, would like to see the same cam, but with a mic input for like, 20 more bucks...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Has staying power

HDRCX405/B 14 April 2019 by Sucks2bu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Left it out in the rain and frost. Works like new

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, good quality picture.

HDRCX405B 31 March 2019 by Billlll (USA)

Nice size camera but it was impossible for me to transfer the movies onto my iMac. This even after downloading the program and spending an hour on the phone with tech support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

simplicity

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by jd1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great camera does it all ,great pictures and video .light and easy to use even for a novice .had the older version did look at cheaper 4k alternative,but went with sony as its always been reliable recommended

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

JUNK Do not waste your money

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by dc255 (USA)

Camera does not read SD card correctly. Keep getting the same error with different cards "reinsert card" Camera is not even a year old.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great for expedition

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by Hammy Hamster (United Kingdom)

I bought a similar earlier model 7 years ago for expeditions and used successfully on Kilimanjaro in freezing temperatures and again on Mt Kenya, in heat and dust of African bush. I bought this new one for Mt Meru as mobile phone technology has improved and I wanted better quality videos. My old one is still in good working order I gave to my Kenyan guide friend - he is thrilled with it and we used the zoom feature to spot animals as well as filing. How does the new one compare to the old model. It does add more clicks to start filming which makes it slower to use but quick button to take a still whilst on video setting is useful. The lens cover is manual on this model but auto on old model. Only fault with old model was dust made lens cover stick open so happy to have manual. I took several batteries and high resolution media chip. Changing batteries was easy but did not need to change chip even though took loads of lengthy videos. I am pleased with the quality of the stills and videos which is what I wanted, better stability on zoom. This is a very affordable handy cam. A bit lighter and seems less substantial than earlier model, but performed well. Ideal for wearing strapped over shoulder for mountain trips with easy to get out and film quickly so just what I wanted. Enjoying sharing with my friends thousands of miles away and keeping memories fresh. Very happy - the picture is mobile phone shot of Samson and I both happy with 7 year old and current purchase- we are now sharing great pics and videos thousands of miles apart but close in great memories and planning our next expedition

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0