241

4.1 based on 241 customer reviews

131
59
23
11
17
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HDRCX405/B 28 April 2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to work, little problems on the menu otherwise very functional

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice

HDRCX405/B 04 January 2017 by tails12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont like how its difficult to upload videos to the computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

241 Customer Reviews

0

Comments

HDR-CX405/BCE23 25 April 2024 by Crazy Videophotographer (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera should have indicators for how much recording time left for the battery and SD card in use. Also should have the len filter ring to attach any filters we may want to attach to it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent Camcorder But Difficult To Use

HDR-CX405 20 April 2024 by mattnl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a decent camcorder but is difficult to use the menus. The navigation button is difficult to use; you have to sort of hook the button with your finger; do not swipe it. It is a decent camcorder; it has 30x optical zoom that is probably its best feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

What happened to this camera?

HDR-CX405 19 April 2024 by and34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Handycam about 15 years ago. It was AWESOME, but I lost it in a move. So I bought a new one. This camera is the worst. Charging light won't work, battery wont charge....I thought I got a lemon, but nope, same issue straight out of the box again. Sony quality has tanked.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony camcorder

HDRCX405B 17 April 2024 by Leif 61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camcorder. Very simple to use and works great. The zoom works amazing and the play back picture is crystal clear. Great price and a great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERY light, powerful and easy to use!

HDR-CX405 30 March 2024 by theBobsMA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was able to receive this camcorder through a rewards program at my employer. It just arrived and I was amazed at how small it is. I have 2 much older tape-based Sony camcorders and I'm going to transfer those videos to a solid state drive and just stick with this small camcorder. One weird thing is that there is no external memory card included. So I purchased two 256-gb SDXC cards, the small Sony camera case and the Sony travel charger as well. But I am really amazed at the size. I can't believe how far camcorders have come in teh past 20+ years!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality results, affordable & simple to use

HDRCX405B 28 March 2024 by PaPa80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An ideal camcorder to capture those precious moments in life. It is very simple to use and you won't break the bank with your purchase. It shines with high quality, action movies outdoors. Our proof is watching our great-granddaughter's soccer games. The close-up and wide angle scenes are captured with crispness that exceeded all expectations .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth The Money

HDR-CX405 16 March 2024 by doubleblank (United Kingdom)

So far so good It has the right number of features for what I need, I see no need to pay for features I do not need like Wi-Fi, the video quality is very good, so far just use it for you tube, not taken any stills yet, the menu is easy to navigate, so yes so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for money

HDR-CX405/BCE35 21 February 2024 by Mstulis (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the same model previously but spoiled due to the screen blanked. I did brought it to Sony at Somerset but was told you do not have spare parts.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handiness all-in-one

HDR-CX405/BCE35 03 February 2024 by Wkloh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of months ago to record many things and it performs outstandingly well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight and easy to use

HDR-CX405 25 January 2024 by Crippen (United Kingdom)

My last real experience with a video camera was a large clunky model. This new Sony model is extremely light with very simple controls. Superb clarity and sound. A great purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

HDRCX405B 03 January 2024 by PaAung (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to used USB charger built in good quality video I’ll buy another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony HD camera

HDRCX405B 31 December 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to record a play where my son it was the principal actor, amazing product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought my second handycam

HDR-CX405 07 November 2023 by Narada C (United Kingdom)

I bought my first Sony Handycam about 8 years ago & it lasted a lot of use. I use it for a wide variety of clips when I want small equipment I can carry easily. After the first died, I just bought me a new one. I'm very happy with it. Easy to use. Captures good footage especially with good lighting. Captures sound reasonably well too.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A valuable research support tool....

HDR-CX405 19 October 2023  (United Kingdom)

I spent some time researching SONY video cameras to find one that fulfilled the need to record design work in progress, as an aid to evaluating modifications to provide feedback for later reference. This model was chosen for its compact design, intuitive user interface, and plenty of access to modify its settings. This is the first video camera I have found able to correctly enable viewing of OLED displays through its fine-tuned exposure control, without flare and desaturated colour....sharp focus and high-resolution at very low light levels is maintained at high quality. The 'Play Memories' software did not work with MacOS X 10.13.6, but this may be due to my anti-virus protection software. However, this is not an issue, since when plugged into the Mac by USB cable, the camera appears as a drive on the desktop, and the video files are easily accessible for copying across to a permanent hard drive....which I prefer. Various clips were assembled and then captioned in Adobe Premiere, to provide an archival record of this stage of progress in the current project. This camera will be very useful in a whole range of current and future research work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Basic but Brilliant

HDR-CX405 17 October 2023 by KrissyV (United Kingdom)

Love using a device solely for capturing video. Very nostalgic seeing old Camcorder footage. The CX405 is basic making it super easy to use. No touch screen so no need to constantly wipe the screen every 5 minutes. Good old fashioned buttons. Good battery life and with a good sized memory card, hours of recording time. No 4K but the HD does not fail to impress. Low lighting conditions also not an issue. Due to low low price this gives confidence to carrying it everywhere. Can recommend the carry case LCS-BBJ. This clips onto a belt.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy Sony Cam

HDR-CX405 16 October 2023 by Davey111 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camcorder to replace an earlier model. Had to source micro memory cards but so far it's proved very useful and easy to use. We've yet to replay videos through our TV but no reason not to expect continued satisfaction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

HDRCX405/B 27 August 2023 by DebDeb1111 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using this camera to video my Son's youth Football games. So far I have used it once and I love it! It seemed a little light and almost cheap at first for how much it costs but after using it I love it! It's easy to use and the picture is great! I needed to zoom up close and it does absolutely great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HDR-CX405 09 July 2023 by Fransam (United Kingdom)

An excellent camera with many features which once explored add much to taking and making photos and movies. The design is sensible and it is an easy camera to hold and operate. Superb zoom and focussing, and a fold out, easy to angle, viewer makes using the camera fun and safe. The charging/usb cable is nicely concealed in the strap and I found the camera excellent when using a tripod. The camera is light, which betrays it's quality construction and technology. There is also a movie highlights feature which adds to the quality of video making. The handbook is useful when first setting up, but there is also an online/downloadable manual which expands on this. The on/off switch is handy, literally, and the menu dropdown etc is easy to use once familiarised. All in all an excellent Sony product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice practical design that is easy to use.

HDR-CX405 21 June 2023 by Freaky Pete (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased this Sony Handycam and although its early days yet I am finding it to be a nice practical design that is easy use and download movies and pictures via the USB cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

video recorder cx405 handycam

HDRCX405/B 06 April 2023 by logo700 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

fair product for begginners like me and great zoom

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great Features

HDR-CX405/BCE35 02 March 2023 by Dave0791 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 4 sets of CX405, previously also bought and used PJ410, great series that sony provide with low cost, good image quality and clear sound recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bang for the buck.

HDRCX405B 14 February 2023 by Nagy Papa Toth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the camera so I wouldn't have to keep borrowing my daughter-in-law's. So far it is working out just great. The files upload easily to my PC and I can hardly wait to do some editing on the videos and get them posted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I needed

HDRCX405B 16 January 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a Xmas gift. It does the job. The picture quality is clear. The frame rate is smooth, audio works well. I like how you can take still images while shooting videos. Great product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good camera if you do not have to alter settings

HDR-CX405 03 November 2022 by gusoh (United Kingdom)

Iwas given the camera as a birthday present, it lay in a cupboard for several months before I used it on holiday. I was unable to change the date which was the 25th December 2015 also I could only see 4 or 5 screens I returned it to Sony Centre Wales and they tell me the camera is working fine . Therefore it must be my hands and fingers are to large for the joystick / multi task tool.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Handycam

HDRCX405B 02 November 2022 by Matt66666666 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Handycam has stopped working after one month. Please advise how I get it fixed/replaced.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Won't focus

HDRCX405/B 26 October 2022 by Kimmy NM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

had to return it the next day. can't get it to focus unless you're about 8 inches away.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Wonderful picture

HDRCX405B 01 October 2022 by Bingo103 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have no complaints about the picture quality. The micro sd card determines how long you can video/number of pictures taken before having to load it on the computer for editing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Why do we have to go thru this registration?

HDRCX405/B 30 September 2022 by debbi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All I want to do is video and load in my computer but can't because you have to jump through hoops to do anything.

0

0

0

Great light weight camera

HDR-CX405 26 September 2022 by Poovers (United Kingdom)

Bought this two weeks ago,easy to set up and record movies and take pictures.it is so light,the quality of recorded video is good.well impressed with it and at a good price tag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

HDRCX405B 21 September 2022 by Betsy12345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used this for candid videos of my daughters wedding. The weekend was overcast, and my nephew did an excellent job. I just used it again on a sunny day, and the kids that used it couldn’t see what they were filming. The pics turned ok but the kids were frustrated. An eye piece to see what you are shooting would be a plus!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD

HDRCX405/B 14 September 2022 by FryBanshee139 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, light weight, can take it anywhere

HDRCX405B 06 August 2022 by Renee53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our daughter is in love with her new Sony camcorder! She enjoys its convenient size, and weight making it easy to use anytime and anywhere. The zoom feature is fabulous and clear, and it’s nice to have an option for pictures too. I highly recommend this camcorder for anyone who is looking for a simple, small, and easy to use camcorder for vacations, birthdays, holidays and hanging out with friends. The price is affordable too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice pictures but

HDRCX405B 23 July 2022 by JGAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera will not update to the latest firmware….

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Horrible picture quality

HDRCX405B 30 June 2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Horrible picture quality. I didn't go any further than that. It was worse than any smart phone I've ever owned.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

simplicity itself

HDR-CX405 16 June 2022 by Seamusg (United Kingdom)

i received the cx405 last week and have used it a few times before i go on holiday to learn how it functions and it was real easy to use and i was impressed with the colour reproduction.I wanted to upload the videos to my computer and play back on my tv to make sure things were running smoothly and after a few minutes everything was go.So i would definately recommend the cx405

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HDRCX405B 11 May 2022 by Teseract86 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder is simple to use and lightweight, and has a couple of camera effects built in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievably Great Videos From A Compact Machine

HDRCX405B 03 May 2022 by Babalooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was so light I wasn't expecting much from this camera when purchased but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the videos. This little, light camera has become my go to camera to carry with me at all times. Very happy with my purchase!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic!

HDRCX405B 26 April 2022 by Charles of the Ritz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with purchase. Easy to operate. Compact size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Sucks

HDRCX405B 07 March 2022 by Mellogrrl65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried getting a hold of someone for help. Good luck getting help. Their camcorders are horrible. I bought mine 2018 and it's ruined one of my SD card. Another old camcorder of theirs stopped taking cassettes. All of these contain memories of all of my dogs who died. NEVER BUY ANY SONY PRODUCT!!!!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Fine little camcorder

HDR-CX405 05 March 2022 by gbarac72 (United Kingdom)

This is fine little HD camera with great picture and sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not Happy

HDRCX405/B 14 February 2022 by Mellogrrl65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in 2018, used this maybe a few dozen times and I'm starting to have problems. It's been freezing and making memories I have on the card, skip or distorted. These cards I have are memories of three dogs that have passed on. I'm very upset considering I haven't used it much and it's already crapping out. This is the second Sony camcorder that has done this. I will NEVER buy Sony camcorder again. I have memories of my now deceased dogs where words are cut out and pictures distorted. And yes, I'm great at keep my things clean and away from moisture and heat.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Awesome starter camcorder

HDRCX405B 06 February 2022 by Shogun assasin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product for the price I’m more than pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

HDR-CX405 29 January 2022 by Stevie Q (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder as a replacement for a Panasonic V100 which I've had for 10+ years but was showing it's age, only recorded in HD 1080i at 25fps and the microphone had started to pick-up internal noise. Otherwise it has been an excellent camcorder. I chose the CX405 because the equivalent Panasonic was out-of-stock everywhere. I was expecting the Sony to give improved pictures over my old Panny as it could record in 1080p at 50fps, but am disappointed that the clarity is no better and the Panasonic gives smoother panning (no pun intended) than the Sony. I would be tempted to return it if it wasn't for the audio problem with the Panny and I need a camcorder. I have to say though that it hasn't reached my expectations. In some respects I feel I've wasted my money.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good video camera and camcorder

HDR-CX405 11 January 2022 by kenpopat (United Kingdom)

sorry no photos as I have not stored any photos just yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My review for HDRCX405

HDRCX405B 22 December 2021 by Doris Jean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love It. It is easy to use and it takes excellent photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera for Virginia Water art society for demos

HDR-CX405 26 November 2021 by macamera (United Kingdom)

We have a demonstration at our monthly meeting and so that everyone can see we project it on to large screen our old Sony action camera broke and found this to be ideal have not had a chance to use it properly yet but will let you know how we get on.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Handycan

HDR-CX405 01 November 2021 by Highlander67 (United Kingdom)

Have wanted a cam for a wee while This is a fantastic cam, fairly easy to use, takes good photos as well as the video cam aspect. Reasonably priced ... would recommend the camera to friends and fam

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW !

HDRCX405B 15 October 2021 by sonyken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super light, super easy to use and great movies and photos, for a great price !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camcorder

HDR-CX405 10 August 2021 by Ess Eff Emm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice little camcorder, bought recently to take videos and pictures from visits to sites that I undertake, which it does very well. Photos transfer up to the computer but so far unable to upload videos, even with the video software at sony.net/pm.... Need to get that sorted somehow in order to upload and then it will fulfill all that I need it for.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cheap and Cheerful

HDR-CX405 14 July 2021 by user 25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a replacement for a Canon camera which had given up the ghost because Canon models that I was interested in were not available. The model is quite small and light and appears to be mainly built of plastic. Lens and picture quality appear on a par with my previous model. Access to features is by a button which appears not to be particularly robust. As with all such cameras there is no view finder these days which to my mind is a retrograde step. Seems reasonable for the price I paid

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fair camera

HDRCX405B 13 July 2021 by Gofer303 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this cam for a general use always on hand unit. The first problem is the white balance when in auto mode really has bad results, manual WB only passable. Cant plug in power and record at the same time. No android compatable software, otherwise is a fair deal..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No charging

HDRCX405/B 19 June 2021 by Jr9542 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a year ago and the battery no longer charges

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My Review for HDRCX405B camera is a glowing one.

HDRCX405B 16 June 2021 by amateur cook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to make some Cooking videos for YouTube. I had not owned a video camera before so I did a lot of research before I purchased my Sony CX-405. My research led me to the right choice. The camera was affordable, compact to handle and use on the tripod I purchased along with it. It thinks for itself and gets me to the right settings automatically. It takes great shots even though I don't know much about photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The camera works great......

HDRCX405/B 06 June 2021 by tim4372 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

But the process to register it is extremely frustrating. I am at the step where you guys ask for a proof of purchase, the model and serial numbers. I have been taken in a continuous loop, after I upload the picture, provide the model number, serial number, purchase date and where I purchased the camcorder, I take back to the page asking if I want a warranty. This page precedes the model and serial number page. Then, I will start the process all over again. Other than that, the product works great!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

handy size and functions

HDR-CX405 27 May 2021 by chrissunbeam (United Kingdom)

good alround camera. wish it was easier to change from video to still, bit of a nightmare downloading data if you dont do it often an forget how.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I like the video it takes but there is a fault

HDR-CX405 26 April 2021 by DaveG77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the image quality and the weight of this camcorder. but there is a fault that it sometimes does not record. I tried resetting it as suggested but I havnt had the time to test it since. I do hope the fault is corrected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Camcorder

HDR-CX405 08 April 2021 by Marriott96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this handy camcorder for about 5 years now and it's just as good when I received it as a present, I would highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great thing will happen to you

HDRCX405/B 30 March 2021 by Seacaptain2021 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

HD cameras are the talk of the town. Buy a Sony CX405 and join the trend setters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Doesn't Work Unless You Buy A Memory Card Separate

HDR-CX405 20 March 2021 by VeryVeryUnhappy (USA)

I can't rate the blasted thing, because it doesn't work as sold. It doesn't come with a memory card and it doesn't work without one. Now I have to figure out what card to buy and where, and what's an acceptable price. No warning of this anywhere in the marketing. Thought I was getting a working camcorder for the advertised price. Live and learn, I guess, but what an odd sales practice. If I ever order a car online, maybe it will be delivered without tires.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Probably the best basic camera on the markey

HDR-CX405 16 February 2021 by Adrian61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought 5 for streaming church services. The image quality it excellent, even in lighting conditions which are not the brightest. You can only get a clean hdmi output on 1080 and with hdmi ctrl off. It has basic facilities, no Wi-fi for example, but it is excellent for our purposes. If streaming, recommend the use of fibre optic cables.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Impressive handycam in a small package

HDR-CX405/BCE35 22 January 2021 by Nizam78 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a handycam to replace my ageing non-HD handycam, and this is suitable one to meet my budget!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a camera...

HDR-CX405 04 January 2021 by StickMan11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this camera. It does camerary things......like a camera.

3

4

0

Mostly great. love the zoom, but no external mike

HDRCX405B 04 January 2021 by jim_W (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very easy to use with all controls easy to use. I love the zoom range, it actually amazing. I wished I could connect a wireless make to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

takes excellent vixeos

HDRCX405B 21 December 2020 by Oregonian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it over a year and it is so compact and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

HDRCX405/B 20 December 2020 by Family Cam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few years ago and it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No external Mic

HDRCX405/B 14 November 2020 by Zalva (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not really happy that I can not use an external mic.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Compact and easy to use

HDR-CX405 25 August 2020 by LindaJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, handy (!) camcorder - easy to use. Still working on the editing side but like the quality of video produced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

GREAT LITTLE CAMERA

HDRCX405/B 19 July 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WE USE IT FOR FISHING / BEACH TRIPS. WORKS GREAT.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like the curate's egg - good in parts

HDR-CX405 20 June 2020 by TJRS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The eternal problem for me is that I'm not at bright as the average customer. The amount of prior knowledge that I am assumed to have by the manufacturer before I take delivery of their product is completely baseless. And that means I am invariably struggling to get the best from the item - in this case my CX405 handicam. What is the most appropriate card to go out and buy to put in it. No clue in the instructions. What programme do I install on my laptop to edit the results. No clue in the instructions. How do I edit the results and trim it up and present something watchable to my family and friends. No clue. How do I use the refinements the camera claims to have. What do they do to the pictures. What mode does what. The list is endless. The result is the camera isn't used and can't be enjoyed. One day I may work it all out but in the meantime only buy this if you have owned and enjoyed having a handicam before. I expect its quite good. Four stars because the lip on the screen that you use to open the thing up is too small and it takes several goes before it stops slipping back shut having issued an infuriating little 'ping' each time you fail to open it. Oh, and it needs somewhere to attach a lanyard as I hang it round my neck whilst I out on my walks.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

4

0

Whether you're an armature or Professional

HDRCX405B 16 June 2020 by Satisficed Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After having my Sony HD-CX405 video cam nearly a month, I have not stopped using it. The interface is extraordinary. The mobility feature makes using it easy in any situation. I use it to film many events, indoor and outdoor waterever the lighting situation you have to deal with, this handy cam has you covered. I use it to film my church services, the results are astounding in the picture quality. The ability to zoom in and out are smooth and with professional results. And taking still photos are easy and with high quality results. I only wish I had bought one sooner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

4

0

Great features but hard to understand instructions

HDRCX405/B 29 May 2020 by odb4god (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like ti but hard to understand instruction on all the features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Slightly Disappointing

HDR-CX405 27 February 2020 by Peter214 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera to film a Village stage play, The first attempt the battery ran out half way through the second act. On the second attempt the the charging lead was used and the whole play (two hours long) captured successfully . The picture quality is reasonable but slow to focus and the camera was slow to respond to changes in light levels.Changing the camera settings seems to require a lot of practise as the menus are small and difficult to interpret and the selection button very fiddly. Downloading to Play Memories Home (PMH) took a long time and editing the film was not easy using PMH. A cut and paste facility on PMH would be very helpful. Adding captions also took time to master. Saving the film after editing took nearly two hours. I am sure this camera would be great for taking short clips.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1