63

4.8 based on 63 customer reviews

52
11
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

63 Customer Reviews

0

The best lens I have used to date!

SEL1635Z 03 June 2019  (United Kingdom)

I changed from Nikon to Sony because I wanted to go mirrorless and the Sony fitted the bill. I'm using the Sony a7111 with the Vario-Tessar T* FE 16-35mm F4 ZA. It would be an understatement to say that I love this lens! It's sharp, and I mean SHARP! Once focussed it stays there, the focussing ring is smooth but firm, no creep whatsoever. I mostly use manual focus but this cameras auto focus is very fast and accurate. Shooting mostly at f11, edge to edge and corner to corner images are sharp enough to cut through doors at Fort Knox. Of course it's down to me to make sure I focus accurately but when I get it right I couldn't be happier with the results. It's not Sony's top 16-35 zoom but from the build quality and performance you'd think it was! Highly recommended...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid Lens

SEL1635Z 18 May 2019  (USA)

I have used this lens for 7 month now several times a week. I use it for real estate photography and it is excellent. Works really well and I can't say anything bad about it. It is a solid professional lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for Landscape on sunny days

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 01 May 2019 by ShenYL (Singapore)

At 16mm the contrast and sharpness on the centre zone is excellent. But the far corners only become very good at F8. I will be using this mainly for 16-20mm wide. I tried it indoor, around 7pm, and I would said the lens will need lots of artificial lighting with its max F4. It will not be possible to shoot at 16-18mm wide with flash. The weight is around 500gm and it is heavier than light prime, but most UWA prime with good contrast and sharpness has heavy vignetting or distortion. This is more flexible and covers a good UWA and Wide range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very shape

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 29 April 2019 by Arthur92 (Singapore)

I bought 2 months ago, it’s a good lens on its value. Good image quality and design, it’s perfectly balance on my a7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL1635Z 24 April 2019 by JaiK (USA)

overall a great lens. I have a question for the readers and support team. When I take the zoom below 20mm I see dark circles on the edges. i have a sony A7R3. please advise if this is expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Walk-Around Lens!

SEL1635Z 17 April 2019 by Greg S (USA)

I bought this lens to be my walk around lens on a trip to Egypt, Jordan and Israel. I couldn’t have been happier. The size and weight was a perfect balance with the stellar performance. Crisp focus, great color rendition and easy to compose shots at various distances. It worked great for both landscapes and portraits. I highly recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL1635Z 07 April 2019 by higueron (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased this lens and so far I an delighted with the results it lives up to expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best wide angle-zoom EVER!!

SEL1635Z 06 February 2019 by vanRhine (United Kingdom)

Super sharp, top build, smooth action..... just love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good wide angle landscape lens

SEL1635Z 04 February 2019 by Dilw1 (United Kingdom)

Good lens with sharp images and fast focus. Much cheaper than a 2.8 g master with enough change to buy a couple of other lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great wide angle

SEL1635Z 22 January 2019 by anacc (United Kingdom)

I love landscape and architecture photography, and this lens is perfect for that. It's a bit bulky and heavy to carry around all day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent IQ Despite Relatively Compact Size

SEL1635Z 15 January 2019 by Michael_100 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a high quality wide zoom for my Sony A7Riii, mainly for landscape work. The obvious candidates were the Sony f/4 or the GM f/2.8 lenses. Having checked various websites and compared test shots I bought the F4 ZA and have not been disappointed in any way. IQ is excellent - I don't often print 3-metre wide images, though they appear perfectly OK on-screen. The size and weight are modest, especially in view of the IQ delivered, and build quality cannot be faulted. A truly excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Wide angle

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 23 December 2018 by Tjagat83 (Singapore)

I am so happy with this even if it’s f4 pair it with a7 m 3 produce nice image

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wide angle and landscape lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 11 December 2018 by Nesta89 (Singapore)

Bought it as I was looking for a wide angle. Had less distortion than the 12-24m and cheaper than the f2.8 which I won't use much anyways.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL1635Z 07 November 2018 by Bloberoonie (United Kingdom)

Using this lens for landscape and architecture and so far i’m Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens!

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 31 October 2018 by Bonxphotography (Singapore)

Totally satisfied with the image quality it produce... as a landscape hobbyist

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Versatile camera Produces sharp images

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 29 October 2018 by Omninet08 (Singapore)

I took this len on my recent trip to Japan. To my pleasant surprise, the len focused well at all weather conditions. photos taken at bright sun light turned out well balanced colour

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice sharp wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 16 October 2018 by Bethune23 (United Kingdom)

I bought this when I broke my 5d Mark iii along with the A7Riii and the image quality is loads better than with my 11-24mm. Focus is quick and overall image qulaity is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An excellent ultra-wide zoom

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 13 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

An affordable ultra-wide zoom lens, the optical quality is stellar, and fast focusing. The price is affordable and the build quality feels premium. Been able to attach filters to the lens makes it more versatile to your shooting style. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compared to canon 16-35mm f/4 is

SEL1635Z 04 October 2018 by Dave81 (United Kingdom)

Picked up this lens a week ago and have tried it out at home and at a wedding. I recently traded in my canon 5divs for two a7iii's and the 16-35 was a lens I used for a limited number of shots during the day, yet essential ones. it joined my new 85 1.4 G master and 35 f1.4 distagon (please make a Gmaster 35 f1.4 as soon as possible!). I am pleased to report that the 16-35 f/4 vario- Tessar is not only comparable to the canon version, but it seems to be sharper, while being slightly smaller lighter. Probably because of the absence if is, but still. A great lens that I'm very glad to have in my kit. My only gripe is that it is a little expensive for what you get, and I am not sure why. I gave design four stars because the focus is not internal and I would like a manual focus switch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony 16-35mm F4 Len

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 28 September 2018 by Tan HL (Singapore)

I bought about a month ago just before my trip to Bhutan as i knew i am going to need it. I am very pleased with the versatility and performance of the len as well as its compact size. Stongly recommended for landscape and protrait.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is a versatile lens for many different shots

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 19 September 2018 by andy88 (Singapore)

I was initially hesitant to buy it but the results overcame any form of apprehension as its was sharp corner to corner, well at least for my copy of the lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid, quality feel

SEL1635Z 19 August 2018 by Mad Snapper (United Kingdom)

I've not used the lens in 'anger yet apart from quick test shots so can't comment on the quality of the images it produces but as far as the look and feel of the lens is concerned up to now I am very happy. Beautiful satin black finish, the lens fits snugly and tightly to the camera body, much tighter than my Canon 5d Mk3 body and lenses. Comes with a lens hood which clicks nicely and securely in place, a carry pouch, and, obviously, front and back caps. The zoom ring I particularly like, its a good size and is smooth to operate across its range and has reassuringly high amount of friction as you zoom in or out. No sloppiness or sticking so no problems if you wanted to use the lens for video as well as stills. Just waiting for an opportunity to get out and see how the glass performs now . . . .

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great wide angle lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 23 July 2018 by joonhung (Singapore)

bought for 1 month plus, very good for scenic shooting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sharp lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 01 July 2018 by Win Myo Htwe (Singapore)

Very nice width sharp lens that I own ever. I like Son much this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Performance

SEL1635Z 17 May 2018 by johnkant27 (USA)

Got this as a gift. I personally don't like wide angle lenses because they have frequent problems with the picture and performance. However, this lens solves all of that. I currently owned other wide angle lenses(not from Sony) but this lens is the best one I'd had so far. The only flaw that I don't personally like; the focusing wheel and zoom wheel are a bit stiff and hard to use at first. But you get used to it after a while.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great wide angle

SEL1635Z 15 April 2018 by Ady669 (United Kingdom)

Only used it a few times but the pictures of buildings have turned out great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new best lens

SEL1635Z 18 March 2018 by GWCJ (USA)

This is my first Sony FE lens, and I am really happy with it. It handles really well and the photos it gives are sharp and vibrant. The 16-35 range is great for landscape photography which is what I do mostly. Zeis and Sony teamed up for a fantastic lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 26 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for landscape photography. The images are super sharp, even hand held. The 16-35mm focal length is ideal for landscapes. F4 is not the fastest but for landscapes this is fine. Anything faster and the price goes way, way up. The build quality is great, the focusing ring is smooth. On my a7ii body the auto focusing is very quick. I havent had any flare problems to this point. I wish Sony had included a distance scale on the lens. All in all i am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I love this lens

SEL1635Z 19 January 2018 by tacit25 (USA)

Got this lens a little after picking up the A7II and I love it. Images are sharp and have excellent color.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality and durability

SEL1635Z 01 September 2017  (USA)

This is the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7Rii about a year an a half ago. It is robust and really well made, the quality is flawless, it has a little bit of distortion at 16mm but it isn't terrible. I love this lens and would recommend for any serious photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 26 August 2017 by Razzz16 (United Kingdom)

I love it! Very sharp, no aberration at all ! I love the focal length

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent full frame lens vario-tessera

SEL1635Z 02 August 2017 by Daddy g (United Kingdom)

Great lens for my new Sony E frame camera that I have Olympic had just over a week

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Switching over from Nikon

SEL1635Z 01 July 2017 by D18UNK (United Kingdom)

I have had the Sony A7R11 for around a month. Decided to move over from Nikon as a press photographer I thought long and hard before I took the plunge. I purchased the 16.35 and 70-200 f4 lens . I must say I am pleased with the results and the operation and menu settings. Will be adding the 24-70 f2.8 soon. Not yet tried it for the football so the Nikon gear is still around for the time being.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Reliable, Love this lens.

SEL1635Z 20 June 2017 by javinef (USA)

I've had this lens for over a year now and I absolutely love it. It even works for portraits. Incredibly versatile and reliable. I wish I would have bought the F2.8 because I shoot a lot of event photography at night but I really recommend this lens to anyone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Wide angle lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 18 June 2017 by Seraph257 (Singapore)

Got this for wide angle shots but ended up becoming mu common lenses while travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Re: Very surprised with performance of this lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 21 May 2017 by KG Teo (Singapore)

Very surprised with performance of this lens! Definitely recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 19 April 2017 by Ericpoon (Singapore)

Enjoy using it. Good picture quality. Solid build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 15 April 2017 by zerothememorythief (Singapore)

I love the lens! Sony never fail to deliver in every products. Looking forward to more lens from sony'

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A reliable and robust traveling friend

SEL1635Z 21 February 2017 by domblack (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens about a year now and I am very impressed, I am not a pixel peeper exactly, but it appears tone sharp at any settings, it is relatively compact an whit IS I don't really need the extra expense and weight of faster glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 19 December 2016 by Petedox (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens just two weeks, so have not had a great chance to use it yet. However early test shots show that it has the Zeiss contrast and colour rendition that puts it in a league of it's own. This is my second Zeiss lens, this time I went for the 16-35 rather than the 24-70 as I have a Sony A6000 (APS-C format) and thought this would also be a pretty decent wide angle even on the smaller sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony / Zeiss Lens

SEL1635Z 07 December 2016 by ekroy (United Kingdom)

Another good Sony lens to add to my arsenal. This one bought for tavelling to fit my A7R2 abd A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

great lens

SEL1635Z 16 October 2016 by J Brad (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 2 months ago as i was going on vacation to NYC, i was not disappointed with its performance, the pictures were exultant quality all hand held with difficult lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Versatile landscape and street photography lens.

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 13 July 2016 by Blackgold (Singapore)

Bought it four mths ago and took it for my travel trip. Fantastic lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens!

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 09 July 2016 by Neck_face (Singapore)

Super sharp lens! the lens itself feels solid and robust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

wasnt a zoom lens lover until this

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 11 May 2016 by cstham (Singapore)

Never really liked zoom lens until I met this one. Very nice ultra-wide zoom. Not a 2.8 lens but not a problem at all. Shooting wide open is already good, stopping down to middle aperture produces pretty impressive shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens if you are lucky to get a good copy!

SEL1635Z 07 May 2016 by Caris21 (United Kingdom)

I have tried 5 copies of this lens in total - 2 were decentered - always soft on one side in all focal lengths, 2 had soft corners until stopped down to f11, my final copy is still not perfect but the best of the bunch. The wide end 16-24mm is superb even wide open but from 26-35mm things get progressively worse with 35mm being virtually unusable until f14. This is not what I would expect form an expensive lens with a Zeiss logo. The stress associated with securing a good copy is really too much - Sony must do something to eliminate the sample variations - the production QC is below standard expected at this level. My experience has really put me off from buying another expensive Sony FF lens. The built quality is superb but it's not that important if the optics are below par! I would still recommend this lens but only if you get a good copy, otherwise you would be better off using a 3rd party manual wide-angle zoom with an adapter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

14

0

Outstanding image quality!

SEL1635Z//Q SYX 23 March 2016 by Sony convert (Singapore)

Decide to buy my first ultra wide after reading many good reviews on this lens. Wow .... it's a superb lens! Premium built quality. Very sharp wide open. Corners to corners outstanding stop down. Colours and contrast is very good too. A "must own" lens for all Sony a7 owners.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect focal length for landscapes

SEL1635Z 21 December 2015 by JohnR52 (United Kingdom)

This lens has joined my selection of Sony lenses. Being s recent convert from Canon L series glass I am quality conscious and can say this lens meets and exceeds my expectations . Great partner to the 55 MM and 85 MM Batis

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great lens for a7R

SEL1635Z 08 December 2015 by Mickpic (United Kingdom)

Initial impressions are excellent build quality and ideal for landscapes. Very sharp and at 18mm the horizon appeared dead straight with just the preset basic lens correction in Lightroom. It's also nice that the front ring doesn't move when you focus, which is handy if you've lined up a graduated filter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A great wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 11 September 2015 by Billphoto (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased this lens to complete my FE lens collection. As a simple amateur I think the quality is superb, and the field of view excellent. It is sharp and produces with my A7 and A7s excellent images. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent wide angle zoom

SEL1635Z 09 September 2015 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

Great lens. Build quality is excellent. Feels great on the A7 body. Optically first class. The OSS will be of great help in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

Good Wide Angle Lens

SEL1635Z 16 June 2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens for a month, so my experience is short. The lens was bought a I needed and wide angle lens particularly for interior and architectural photography, but also would use it for landscapes. The lens performed well with my A7R, acquiring good autofocus with good dynamic range and colours. When photographic interiors which were very close there was considerable distortion of the verticals, but this is to be excepted and can be corrected in Photoshop. The lens performed well in landscape with no visible distortions. In both genre the photos were pin sharp. The build is exceptional in is feel and look, with smooth control rings. Although I normally use a tripod, the stabilisation appeared to work well when I used hand held, with no noticeable movement blur, even at high resolution.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Truly Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 07 June 2015 by CandidCondor45 (USA)

I have used this lens starting in December 2014. It is very sharp and the colors are very pleasing. The 16 mm setting allowed to take really nice photos at Machu Picchu and the lakes in the California Sierras. The photos are crisp from foreground to background. The entire range of focal lengths produce excellent photos. It works well with the Sony A7R.

9

5

0

The must-have lens for social photography

SEL1635Z 06 May 2015 by edurocha (USA)

Excellent image quality, and a perfect focal range for any occasion where people will gather. Zeiss glass will never disappoint you. Paired to my Sony A7II camera, it focuses in a snap, and I never miss a shot.

8

0

0

GREAT LENS, GREAT GLASS, GREAT VALUE

SEL1635Z 16 April 2015 by EchoAux3 (USA)

I have used this lens for landscape and closeup photos. Closeup very narrow/shallow depth @f/4 and great bokeh is an added greatness. For landscape great clarity out far and in close manual focus out to 3/4 way very easy on the A7s with aperture selection f/4-22 for great depth clarity.

10

9

0

impressed!

SEL1635Z 22 March 2015 by JayH (USA)

I was skeptical if this lens would produce the goods on the A7R, it does!!!!

7

2

0

Nice to have a lens like this in an FE mount.

SEL1635Z 25 January 2015 by MarkyM38 (United Kingdom)

Have just returned from holiday so have taken around 1000 frames so far. Always wanted this wide angle zoom length. Although heavier than the 24-70mm it still balances nicely on my A7r. Internet reviews seem to suggest its strongest at 16mm and f4 which appears to be true. You would think that stopping down to f5-11 would sharpen things up nicely but the reverse seems to be true. This together with the 55mm is a good combination. Still deciding whether to get the 70-200mm FE lens. (The 55mm is stunningly sharp so any other lens never seems quite as good!)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My new best friend.

SEL1635Z 21 January 2015 by photon (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent, it's sharp, has well saturated colours, and good contrast. Classic design, good functionality. Robust build quality, beautifully engineered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good but too early to fully endorse

SEL1635Z 15 January 2015  (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens for a few weeks so it is too early to pass a comment that is based upon experience. However this is a superb lens and fills a gap at wide angle so together with the 24-70 lens I have a very complete package

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 06 January 2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I have only used it a couple of times. Results are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 21 November 2014 by LensGuru (USA)

Great contrast and color, typical of a Zeiss lens. What amazes me is how sharp this lens is at corners, even in the extreme wide angle end (16mm). The distortion is superbly well controlled too. The sharpness in the corner indicates that the lens is inherently free of severe distortions, because the interpolation performed to correct the distortion often loses resolution in doing so. Goes to show how much quality optic this lens really is! Highly recommended.

27

1

0

Just Released in the USA

SEL1635Z 21 November 2014 by AndyV (USA)

Superb .... Just purchased this lens on 11/20/14 Took it for ride this morning. Shot some landscape in Raw (A7r) Very impressive resolution and color accuracy A must have for Landscape users Love the F4 at all zoom levels. Not too heavy either .

22

8

0

Great lens but expensive

SEL1635Z 21 October 2014 by JianXiangPhotography (USA)

This is a very nice lens, I can give 9.5 out of 10 for the image quality of this lens, except for one little obvious defect: 90 percent of the area is very sharp except the very edge area has a bit of blur. There are also some distortion on the four corner too, but it's a ultra wide angle lens, and that cannot be avoid. I love this lens' exterior look and its build quality. The price is a bit high compare to sel2470z, probably the devaluation of Canadian dollars played some effect on pricing.

18

21