37

4.5 based on 37 customer reviews

28
4
2
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

37 Customer Reviews

0

Great feature

SEL1635GM SYX 05 September 2019 by Melnet (Singapore)

Though I had used for a brief while, excellent photos. Can’t wait to use during oversea trip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

all round good

SEL1635GM 01 September 2019 by Nurse Terry (United Kingdom)

Love this lens bought at Wex great service from Hanna in Bristol store

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing for the work I do taking pictures of homes

SEL1635GM 24 August 2019 by Tanner Moss (USA)

Amazing lens for photography and videography . I love being able to go wide at 16mm then if I want I can go to 35mm for more of a cinematic look . This lens is a work horse and is solid and has amazing technology and has an amazing clean sharp look.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Landscape & Street lens in one

SEL1635GM SYX 19 July 2019 by PaulQ (Singapore)

I bought this lens as a one stop landscape/street lens. Apart from its size and weight the lens is oustanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great all around lens

SEL1635GM SYX 12 July 2019 by Azrahmd (Singapore)

Best lens i had so far. Still sharp at f2.8 and nice wide angle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Lens

SEL1635GM 29 June 2019 by Justjas (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens recently and it is simply awesome, pin sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for landscapes and low light.

SEL1635GM 31 May 2019 by beach462 (USA)

I wanted to upgrade to full frame and this lens is perfect for landscapes.D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL1635GM SYX 13 May 2019  (Singapore)

Got this lens couple weeks back and had a chance to use it for my Osaka trip .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp corner to corner

SEL1635GM 07 May 2019 by MartinTurgoose (United Kingdom)

This is my first G master lens and from the the first shots I took with it I was amazed at the results. It's sharp throughout the whole frame, it's not the lightest lens in the world but feels well balanced on my a7rii. I use this lens mainly for landscape shots but also works well as a portrait and street photography lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Corner to corner sharpness

SEL1635GM 08 March 2019 by WinsomePictures (USA)

Based on my photo experiences many years ago, I always avoided zooms in favor of primes. But these new G Master zooms are amazing. Great contrast and rendering, razor sharp even wide open. The old argument about the weight of zooms vs primes really doesn't make sense when you consider this one lens is the equivalent of 16mm, 20mm, 24mm, 28mm and 35mm primes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

36

0

Sony 15-35mm

SEL1635GM 15 February 2019 by Hubalini (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for about six 6 now and very pleased with results. Mainly used for landscapes and images nice and sharp. Would have given 5 stars but like my lenses to have focus distance and depth of field scales.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great lens, but too expensive

SEL1635GM 30 January 2019 by DEB619 (USA)

This is a great lens but pretty expensive compared to competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

SEL1635GM 13 January 2019 by Derek in the garden (United Kingdom)

Cracking lens - great for star shoots. Expensive but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Versatile and optically superb ultra-wide zoom

SEL1635GM 06 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace 3 wide prime lenses I had and to make life a bit easier when out taking landscape shots. I don't regret the decision as this is an outstanding and very versatile lens, from landscapes to macro to wide portraits, it can do it all. The first time I looked at images taken with this lens in photoshop, I laughed simply because the images were so good. It is sharp from corner to corner with no smearing or colour shift in the corners. Colour is vivid and pictures have good contrast no matter the aperture and even when pointed at the sun. It is bitingly sharp, and out-resolves all but one of the prime lenses it replaced. It produces beautiful sun stars too and can focus very close with creamy background blur at F2.8. There are a few pleasant surprises as well, it is smaller and lighter than I expected and balances well on my A7RIII. It is also very well made and feels very high quality in use. All in all I'd say it is amazing value, it has replaced 3 lenses for me and it is simply so good I cannot foresee it ever being replaced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Sony 16-35 GM

SEL1635GM SYX 28 December 2018 by Bonn_NG (Singapore)

Bought the lens one week before I left for my vacation in Hunan and Hubei. It was misty and cold due to the winter weather in the mountains. Though the surrounding is misty, the lens performed well and the auto-focusing never fails to amaze me. Its just fast and spot on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Distortion Distortion Distortion

SEL1635GM 08 December 2018 by MavicaMoment (USA)

With this price tag, I was expecting perfection not distortion. Lens correction requires you to have the software with the correct profile. Even then not sure if the correction is corrected.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

23

0

Sharpness

SEL1635GM SYX 28 November 2018 by PJansen88 (Singapore)

I bought this excellent lens before my trip to French Polynesia and I absolutely love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Full Frame

SEL1635GM 25 November 2018 by Culpepper (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the image quality but do find the controls complicated compared to my last Fujifilm X H1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Just buy it!

SEL1635GM 30 October 2018 by 22645 (USA)

If you are a landscape or a night sky photographer you'll love the 2.8, the relative light weight, and the zoom range. It makes razor blade sharp images, and beautiful bokeh. A little pricy but I love it and have no regrets. It's not small though but it does justice to the 42M a7RII sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love how good this lens is

SEL1635GM SYX 01 October 2018 by JJLeong (Singapore)

Didn’t regret choosing the 16-35 GM as my first Sony lens! It is sharp and love how wide 16mm and its f2.8 making pictures so creamy and nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

AWSOME...

SEL1635GM 06 September 2018 by Satur (USA)

Excelent pictures , no distorsion and sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635GM SYX 28 August 2018 by WX88 (Singapore)

I bought this lens and a A7Riii with a trade-in of my old DSLR. I never owned a 16-35mm lens before. This is my first Sony lens, I am amazed the sharpness and the less vignette comparing to my previous lens from other brands. I love the focal length and it is a very versatile lens for my usage(landscape and Street Photography). I would definitely recommend to my other Sony friend users.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL1635GM 22 August 2018 by Golfboy1 (USA)

Bought this lens to replace my 12-24. And boy no comparison. Smooth smooth operation. Fast fast autofocus. Pictures out of this world . Could not be happier. Looking to replace my 24 -240. But not there yet. This wide angle and my Macro are my go to lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Wide Angle Zoom Lens

SEL1635GM 27 July 2018 by Tenzie (United Kingdom)

I have been contemplating changing to Sony for a while now, and so glad I did!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Very sharp lens

SEL1635GM 01 July 2018 by RonSE6 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with this lens its very sharp wide open - will use as my walk around lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great sharpness.

SEL1635GM 28 June 2018 by taby (USA)

I am happy with this lens! Very sharp for a zoom lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Quality

SEL1635GM 10 June 2018 by gokhansancar (USA)

I have received my camera and lens couple of days ago and I am quite impressed with the quality and the sharpness, I am kind of curious why people are hating this lens, or trying to compare with other brands, just get it and use it and you will see the difference easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Amazing sharpness in Still and Video

SEL1635GM 07 June 2018 by Joey D (USA)

I've used this lens for some wedding videography and it was amazing with it versatile foucl

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

As sharp as a prime

SEL1635GM 30 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom)

This super-wide zoom lens is as sharp as a prime at all focal lengths, extremely resistant to flair and doesn't soften when used wide open. The perfect super-wide imaging tool.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Outstanding Detail

SEL1635GM 10 March 2018 by donjay (USA)

I'm very happy with the detail in my photos. I had the Sony Zeiss f4 16-35mm previously, with which I was very happy. However, the the photo quality I'm getting now from the G Master version is definitely superior. I don't know if it's worth all the extra money, but I do think this is a better lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sticking to the Zeiss

SEL1635GM 08 February 2018 by Stormyseas (USA)

I have the Vario-Tessar 16-35 and love it but thought that this would be a nice upgrade. It's not. The quality is noticeably less than the Zeiss lens, in more shots than I care to think about. I took it on a recent overseas travel trip and after going through the pictures am kicking myself for not sticking to what I knew was amazing. If the price were lower, perhaps it would be a better fit for some, but at it's current price it's.. not reasonable.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

42

0

Brightest Sharpest Lens I've ever used!

SEL1635GM 06 January 2018 by mauiair (USA)

Only used it a few days but the difference is so noticable there is no going back

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Sony - FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

SEL1635GM 24 October 2017 by luis678 (USA)

Hands down the best 16-35mm 2.8 lens I've ever own!! Sharp,Sharp,Sharp even at 2.8 beautiful color and awesome bokeh!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4

0

Worst lens ever

SEL1635GM 19 October 2017 by brandonwaring (USA)

This lens is a terrible waste of money. Don't buy it. The design is flawed, the picture quality is below average and over all the product doesn't do what it should.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

236

0

Super lens

SEL1635GM 05 September 2017 by pheel (USA)

Bought this on release after wanting it for so long to pair with my A7Rii. It is a full stop faster than the Sony/Zeiss 16-35mm f/4 and the benefits are tremendous. Better low light and action performance and OSS is not really necessary or beneficial on the newer bodies that have IBIS. Focus hold button that can be reprogrammed for several other functions (but not as many as a programmable camera button) is useful too. No zoom lock button like the longer/heavier 24-70mm 2.8 GM but doesn't need it as the barrel does not extend when held upside down (at least not now!). This lens, at least my copy, is very sharp from the center to the edges and pictures look so much better than the Zony. Bokeh looks nice at 35mm wide open. But what really makes a huge difference is how relatively compact this lens is. Slightly smaller and lighter than the Zeiss 35mm f1.4 (distagon) but seems smaller due to the design somehow. The build does not have a metal external barrel but it looks and feels better than the Zony 16-35mm f4 and the 35mm f/1.4. I sold both both of those lenses as this is my new primary walkabout lens (as my Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 II was when I shot Canon). Amazin lens and only negative is the somewhat exhorbitant price as all camera/lens makers shift towards pro prices as smartphones continue to destroy the DSLR/mirrorless market like they did with PAS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

48

9

0

Manual focus ring doesn't work

SEL1635GM 31 August 2017 by Greg007 (USA)

I just bought these lens for my Sony a7 RII and found out that the manual focus ring won't work. Badly disappointed with Sony right now and now I understand why people use Canon...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

8

208

0

Incredible

SEL1635GM 20 August 2017 by Rundepot (USA)

I Shoot with the A7Rll the Image quality is absolutely amazing never expected a wide angle zoom to be this good I also have the 24-70F2.8GM but this lens blew me away if you don't already own it you should it's that good at all FStops here are some sample photos to demonstrate the amount of cropping you're able to do shot at 35mm F2.8 1/60 ISO400 the photograph of the barn was taken with 24-70 GM another incredible lens 70mm F11 1/6sec ISO50

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

49

12