667

4.2 based on 667 customer reviews

412
124
52
26
53
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Love it

UBP-X700 09 February 2021 by Rich23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have just replaced a 8 year old sony bluray player. This one is silent, fast and responsive. I like that you can get rid of all the smart features. I dont want that on a bluray player. Really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

34

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

NEEDS HDR AUTO SWITCHING

UBP-X700 28 November 2018 by Isaac112345678 (USA)

I love my x700 player. The picture quality on Dolby Vision titles is AMAZING; however, the Dolby Vision feature must be manually switched off for non Dolby Vison titles (HDR 10 or non HDR video), and back on for the Dolby Vision titles. If turned on the Dolby Vision feature with a non Dolby Vision movie, the picture does not look its best. Some movies with Dolby Vision don't even show on the box if the movie is in Dolby Vision (so I don't know if I should turn the feature on or off). Sony NEEDS to in the future update its filmware so the x700 can detect when a blur ray is playing a non hdr image, an hdr 10 image, and a Dolby vision image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

667 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent high quality player when it works

UBPX700 25 November 2022 by Caprice88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player in August it worked great for about 8 weeks, then wouldn't play it said the data on this disc is unreadable ,unplugged it and powered it back on and worked great again for 2 weeks or so but wouldn't read my disc again last night, unplugged it again and it played for a while then stopped and everything froze i couldn't get my disc out and now it does the same thing .it was an excellent player just doesn't work I know sometimes there are factory defects and i understand, just disappointed and I'm not upset with Sony they are an excellent company .

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good things come in small packages

UBPX700 08 November 2022 by LJ nova (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 10 year old Sony was getting a little dated so i upgraded to this one! Great choice! plays anything and picture is fantastic !

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A good product with useful features. A good value

UBPX700 02 November 2022 by Jimi Sonic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a retired A/V sales/service person. Sony is one of my favorite brands. I own many components and Sony products are always above average. This unit was just what I needed for my system. I really like the separate HDMI audio output. My last Sony DVD lasted more than 10 years.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Missing Dolby vision

UBPX700 31 October 2022 by Davetip (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The unit performs great like all Sony products. I expected Dolby vision but gave heard it will have an update on the future.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

UBPX700 Streaming BD Player

UBPX700 07 October 2022 by BD314 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the X700 a few years ago. We used it primarily for streaming Prime content and secondly for Netflix. It was excellent until the firmware update came along. It’s no longer streams Prime but will stream Netflix well. We purchased a fire stick and serves our needs well.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nice and cute

UBPX700 25 September 2022 by ibolya1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought today and I so happy with the Sony DVD player 4K Ultra HD

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Good product. Value for money!

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 25 September 2022 by EthanC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent video and sound for watching 4K Bluray discs

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Best Blu Ray for the money.

UBPX700 22 September 2022 by Joe ABC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Plays all movie DVD's: Blu-Ray, store-bought formats.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great picture quality in 4k and the audio quality

UBPX700 12 September 2022 by Romy 313 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased it several hours ago and I just tested the unit let see in a couple of days

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very liable

UBPX700 04 September 2022 by X1928 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony products are very good. I've been using Sony over 10 year's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good quality

UBP-X700 03 September 2022 by aristarc091 (United Kingdom)

I've purchased this Sony UPB-X700 nearly a month ago. So far I have no reasons to complain about it.Easy to connect to my Sony TV and quite straight forward to use it.So far so good .Only time will tell.Before this model I had a Sony UBP-X800 4k ultra bluray player.Hardly used.To my surprise after a long period of not using it , when I've tried to watch a bluray DVD it didn't start.No power whatsoever .I hope this new model it will not have the same fate.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

0

Easy to hook up and use

UBPX700 24 August 2022 by tonysauce (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a 4K OLED TV, had to update Blu-ray DVD player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Updates will not apply

UBPX700 03 August 2022 by G001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I worked through support, tried to apply update online and via usb, no luck. Support said work with warranty under 1year. I purchased new but from an eBay retailer outlet, so was denied. So no updates for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Some good features, 2 problems

UBPX700 02 August 2022 by spacepope68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First I really like this Blu-ray player, it does a good job of upscaling my DVDs. It has one feature that my previous player didn't have, it has Dolby Vision. Now fort he complaints, first it can be a bit noisy when there is no sound, you can hear it humming, it's not usually a problem since there is almost always sound either form the movie or the A/C. Second in order to play Dolby Vision you have to turn it on(and off), which is a problem if you don't know which of your discs have Dolby Vision. While some of us have found lists of D.V. discs online, I thin many of us wouldn't bother, and unless you use a magnifying glass you won't easily see which of your discs have D.V. . Other than those this is a very good player, it also plays music(including my FLAC and HD music) and movies from a thumb drive, I haven't checked how well it plays audio CDs yet, but I am sure it will do a very good job of it. I would recommend this (I forgot to mention the remote is a bit confusing for me, because the power and eject buttons are on the opposite sides of my previous player's remote)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does its job at a overprice

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 28 July 2022 by nccng2001 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the only product in the market I can find that plays 4K UHD, Bluray, CD and other format of discs. However, it comes with a hefty cost, considering that there are not many output and input options available. It is also pretty light, thus feeling that it is a cheap product.

Performance

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works very well

UBPX700 26 July 2022 by GammyB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is our second purchase of the same player...we have one on both TV's...wonderful!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

UBPX700 24 July 2022 by Gbabyy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love it it’s lousy have a good things on it my kids love it also

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Affordable 4k Player

UBPX700 16 July 2022 by Shen88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, light and great to use. Great video quality. Best 4k player you can find out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Features

UBP-X700 05 July 2022 by buckers (United Kingdom)

High quality player, easy to use and to setup. I am glad I purchased it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

234

0

Great Blu-ray Player!

UBPX700 28 June 2022 by kma57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Connected and set up without a hitch. Picture is beautiful and sound is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good product, but having difficulty with coding it

UBPX700 20 June 2022 by Shondore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having a problem with coding my Samsung tv. The stab icon keeps popping up and necessitates having to use the Samsung remote to erase it, consequently involving extra steps to the operating process.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Luv it!!!!!

UBPX700 18 June 2022 by Kev17911 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a UHD player and since I'm a Sony fan, this was perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Blu-ray.

UBPX700 16 June 2022 by Tony575 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works as advertised with simple to use with a lot of features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Basically, similar to my previous model.

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 11 June 2022 by Hopeful123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just hope that this model last longer than the previous one which did not last very long.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

4k

UBPX700 01 June 2022 by Sam126 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

4K Blu-ray player is working great but this is my second one the first one or last year and a half it was working great until it stopped working but this was a great deal on this one I like the features on it but I got a warranty on this one I hope it lasts longer than three years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Staying Current

UBPX700 28 May 2022 by JoeCool007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed something to replace the old BlueRay DVD Players. I selected a Sony this time, and it has not let me down yet. I am able to play 4k, BlueRay, and regular DVDs without having any issues. I purchased one for the living room and my master bedroom and the price was great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Quality 4K UHD Blu-ray player

UBPX700 18 May 2022 by Santa John (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SONY made a very nice 4K UHD Blu-ray player with the UBP-X700 /M. It even makes old DVDs look and sound great. I did have a little issue getting it set-up properly. Intial set-up was a breeze including logging into my home Wi-Fi, which is nice, because it can be set-up to automatically update its software / firmware, which it did during the set-up process. My issue was totally on me as I had 4K HDMI cables from the player's Audio Only output port connected to the CD HDMI 4K input port on the receiver and the player's Video / Audio output port connected to my receiver's HDMI 4K Blu-ray input port. When I played a recently purchase DVD, I saw the video, but did not hear sound, nor did I hear any sound when playing a CD. SONY Tech Support asked me to plug the player directly into the TV - It worked, both video and audio! Tech Support then had me unplug the Audio Only player output port cable so that I only had the player's Video / Audio player output port connected to the receiver's HDMI 4K Blu-ray input port - It worked, both Video and Audio. I don't know if it was the player or the receiver that got confused with my simultaneously connected cables, but it's ostensibly a mutually exclusive (either/or) proposition. My experience might just help with someone else's connection process. I consider my purchase of this player to beat good one. BTW - SONY Tech Support was superb, patient, helpful, and understanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great quality

UBPX700 10 May 2022 by E_Rod (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this 4k Blu-Ray player for about a month and I am extremely happy withit. The picture quality and ease of use are incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A bargain

UBPX700 06 May 2022 by Music nut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 5 months ago. Plays most every type disc I have and well. Pictures great. sounds great. However, it froze and shorted out and crashed after 4 months.I returned it to Sony. It was easy to contact them and they provided prepaid shipping.I was sent a new one which I have not yet hooked up.I cannot complain about their service. I’m hopeful this one works better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product for the money.

UBPX700 18 April 2022 by Apache6f1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned Sony products before, I’ve never been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok

UBPX700 16 April 2022 by Shore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely Slow in moving from one show to another while using tubi. Size is OK. No controls on actual unit. Have had to sign onto wifi several times. Unit is not holding wifi info.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

UBPX700 08 April 2022 by Dunerider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this unit to replace a very old blu-ray player. Great features and the picture and sound output are great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great upgrade from our old one

UBPX700 01 April 2022 by Skychief (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after our old player got zapped by lightning. After checking some other reviews decided this would be the one. What a great upgrade from the old player, which was a good one several years ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good player - but important feature not working

UBPX700 18 March 2022 by swordspirit80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a good player for blurays and playing HDR. However, I REALLY wanted it to be able to play my discs in Dolby Vision! They will play, but there is an annoying flickering on the top and bottom of the screen. I've tried forum after forum, setting after setting even working with Sony and can't get this to go away! When I switch off DV and just play it in HDR...no problems at all. I really wish Dolby Vision worked properly!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features Easy to hook up and use

UBPX700 16 March 2022 by Movie nut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about a year ago, still working great. Very satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent UHD player

UBPX700 14 March 2022 by ted98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent player. Not only does it play UHDs well but it enhances the video and audio quality of 1080p Blu-rays and DVDs. It also includes a number of streaming services if you have WiFi connected. Overall, this player earns my highest recommendation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features. W

UBPX700 03 March 2022 by DUDE2480 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony Blue Ray player UBP-X700/M TO GO ALONG WITH MY SONY KD 55X85J TELEVISION. THE SET UP WAS EASY WORKS GREAT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Average

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 03 March 2022 by Poshika (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Should at least provide RCA Output “Left” & “Right “ (White & Red) for Audio

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Wow

UBPX700 01 March 2022 by EZSomma (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just hooked this up to my Sony 4K TV and all I can say is, wow! The picture and the audio is as advertised. Really really enjoyed how easy it was to set up And the audio was just unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Had an electric issue first time I tried to use it

UBPX700 24 February 2022 by Ron from Texas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would not turn on. No power. Pwoeer button did nothing. As it turned out, according to the Best Buy tech, there may have been some kind of "power issue". He pulled the plug for 10 seconds or so, put the plug back in and then hit the power button for about 10 seconds. It then worked. I don't know what kind of "power issue" it could have had, my AV system is protected by an expensive Panamax power conditioner whcih is designed to help prevent power issues...disappointing. It is now working fine though

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good picture quality & audio for 4k blu ray

UBP-X700/BM SP6 22 February 2022 by MMGGH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for 1 month. Good for home theatre 4k movies.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Elegant, Compact and Quality Player.

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 22 February 2022 by Siva Kumaran (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using for the past few weeks. Working very well. Still discovering new functionality.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Playback freezes

UBPX700 15 February 2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the end of December 2021. I've seen four movies and each one froze. The discs were all brand new out of the package. Sony is replacing the player but so far there's been no communication on where we are in the process.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very nice unit

UBPX700 12 February 2022 by Hartleyhb3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very small with a lot of features. Excellent resolution.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

great features and easy to set up and operate

UBPX700 07 February 2022 by cobra handler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this a month ago to replace the old dvd player. has a lot of good features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compac unit

UBPX700 06 February 2022 by Wajuea (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased recently and still working thru the features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture!

UBPX700 05 February 2022 by GrannyTJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased a new 4K TV and needed to upgrade our DVD player. It was easy to hook up and effortless to play. Movies look fantastic. Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

UBPX700 05 February 2022 by JD GO GO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another great Sony product, I love the quality and functions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set up.

UBPX700 05 February 2022 by LRBA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product, great picture, easy set up, everything needed is included, clear and easy to follow instructions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best buy for the money!

UBPX700 02 February 2022 by Bob L (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony allowed me to enjoy the newest features available at a price I could afford and it performs much better than I anticipated it would.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Met all my needs.

UBPX700 30 January 2022 by Wes Wes Wes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Met all my needs. Met all my needs. Met all my needs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New 4K Blu-ray for 2022.

UBPX700 24 January 2022 by Datachip1258 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needing a new Blu-ray player, decided to purchase the Sony X700 model after much research. It has exceeded our expectations, delivering high quality picture & sound. It enhances our DVD collection, adding visual and audio definition to each disc. When playing a 4K blu-ray with Dolby ATMOS & Dolby VISION, it's like your in the movie. Awesome player @ an affordable price. I recommend this SONY high quality product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great picture and sound

UBPX700 23 January 2022 by Doug1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace an older unit and so glad I did. Looks and sounds great!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

phenomenal 4K resolution

UBPX700 22 January 2022 by dsmithboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

after owning my DVD player for seven years and recently buying a 4K TV it was time to upgrade to a 4K DVD player and this one is simply outstanding

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

I don't think it works correctly.

UBPX700 21 January 2022 by Lucas Ray (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My player does not display a menu when I do not have a disk in, and then it only displays the disk's menu. Additionally, a movie that I watched has skipped and stopped working correctly. I think my system is faulty.

1

1